It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

Because I’ve been traveling the past few days, my reading schedule has been a bit off, but I did manage to finish one book–Beneath Outback Skies by Alissa Callen–which I’ll try to put up a review of soon. I don’t normally read a lot of romance, but this one caught my eye because I’d been hearing about this phenomenon of the ‘rural romance’ in Australian publishing and I wanted to read a book from this genre. I especially enjoyed the cultural aspects of the book and I’m developing something of a crush on Australia. I should really read more books set there.

I’m currently reading The Winter Sea by Susannh Kearsley, which is a good example of how I have to be in the right frame of mind to read a particular book. I started this one a while back and had to put it down because I just wasn’t in the mood for it, and now that I’ve picked it up again I’m quite enjoying it. I’ll also be starting The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller soon, as I’m participating in a group readalong over at Care’s Online Book Club. And speaking of readalongs, I’m joining in a facebook group readalong of A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle with Belle of Ms.Bookish and Joanna of Create Your World. That should start up this week as well.

And because no reading week would be complete without a good audio book, I’m starting A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash. I have heard really good things about both the book and the audio version in particular, so I’m looking forward to reading this one on my daily commute.

I think that’s enough to keep me busy, don’t you? What are you reading this week?

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. therelentlessreader

    I’m very curious about the Cash, I’ve heard good things. I’ll look forward to your review. I hope you love The Song of Achilles, I sure did!

    Have a great week!

    Reply
  2. Care

    I am really enjoying The Song of Achilles and am trying to pace myself so I don’t finish before everyone else gets a chance to get the book.

    Reply
  3. Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

    I started A New Earth a few years ago but had a difficult time getting intereseted in it. Perhaps I need to give it another try. A Land More Kind than Home seems to be getting really good reviews. Have a great week!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

    Reply
  4. Shannon (Giraffe Days)

    I have Beneath Outback Skies on my to-read list, glad to hear you liked it! I’m tempted by the Song of Achilles read-along but I think I have enough on my plate right now to commit to anything else. I’ve got a Susannah Kearsley book – um I forget which one, whoops! but I don’t think it’s that one. So many blogging friends have recommended her though, they absolutely love her books.

    Reply
  5. Lindsey

    I share your apprehension about romance novels. It’s the one genre I’m always hesitant to read. I’m glad you found a winner.

    The Song of Achilles was a wonderful read and I’ve heard great things about Susanna Kearsley. Enjoy your books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

