Top Ten Tuesday: Authors On My Auto-Buy List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s top ten list is of ‘Top Ten Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List’. These are basically authors that I love so much that no matter what they wrote next I would buy it, regardless of genre or subject matter.

1. Joshilyn Jackson – I am very, very picky about Southern writers and let me tell you, JJ is the real deal. Great stories with memorable characters and a lot of fun and heart. Love her!

2. Kate Atkinson – Quirky, funny, clever, and touching. All of her books make me think and feel–usually in a good way. There is no other writer quite like her.

3. Barbara Kingsolver – I love the way Kingsolver is able to combine plot-driven novels with social commentary. I learn a lot from her books and admire her intellect.

4. Julia Spencer-Fleming – I am obsessed with her mystery series set in a small town in the Adirondack mountains and its love story between an old cop and a young priest.

5. Ann Patchett – I haven’t loved everything that Patchett has written, but she’s enormously talented and when she gets it right she REALLY gets it right. My favorite is her non-fiction book Truth and Beauty, so I’m excited that she has a new non-fiction work coming out soon.

6. Laura Hillenbrand – And speaking of non-fiction, her books are amazing. Seabiscuit is my favorite, but Unbroken was great, too. Brilliant writer.

7. Rosina Lippi/Sara Donati – Although she’s written works across several different genres, her talent shines through in every book. Literary fiction, historical fiction, or contemporary southern fiction–there’s something for everyone.

8. Marian Keyes – I haven’t loved all her books equally, but they are always entertaining, and at her best Keyes is able to combine humor and serious issues in a way that few writers can manage. Anyone Out There? is my favorite.

9. Curtis Sittenfeld – I loved Sittenfeld’s debut novel Prep, and I’ve enjoyed everything she’s written since (she has a new one coming out soon, too!) She somehow manages to make me enjoy books even when I don’t really like the main character, and that is rare.

10. Andrea Barrett – For the sheer beauty of the language she uses, Barrett is one of those writers whose books you want to read slowly just to savor them. She has a new collection of short stories coming out soon.

Which authors are on your auto-buy list?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors On My Auto-Buy List

  1. Heather

    Margaret Atwood, Barbara Kingsolver, John Irving, Annie Dillard, Toni Morrison, Joyce Carol Oates, Kurt Vonnegut (although there won’t be any new books), Jasper Fforde, Douglas Adams, Noam Chomsky.

    Reply
  2. Peggy@Peggy Ann's Post

    A.D. Scott , Kate Atkinson, Van Reid, and Beverly Cochran. I tend to read a lot of vintage books and odd off the beaten path types. Fun post!

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    There are many authors I like, but I wouldn’t buy their books automatically unless the price was right (I buy books $2.99 and below on impulse if I like the genre and/or the author). Otherwise, I always look for a review, even for books by authors I love.

    Reply
  4. nrlymrtl

    I also really enjoy the Julia Spencer-Fleming mysteries. I think I read up through book 7 or 8? It’s been a year since I last checked the library to see what new book she has out.

    I also enjoyed Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle nonfiction. Lots of fun. I should give her fiction a try.

    Reply
  5. kimbacaffeinate

    I would have such a hard time whittling my auto-buy authors down to ten but here are a few: Justin Cronin, Amanda Stevens and Suzanne Johnson, Sarah MacLean, Robyn Carr, Deborah Harkness, Tahereh Mafi

    Reply
  6. Ti

    Great topic.Here are mine:

    Haruki Murakami
    John Irving
    Cormac McCarthy
    Stephen King
    Jo Nesbo
    Ian McEwan
    Peter Geye
    Erica Bauermeister
    Justin Cronin
    Jeffrey Eugenides
    Stewart O’Nan

    Okay that’s 11 but I really cannot live without these guys.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Top 10 Tues–er Thursday: Auto-Buy Authors | JulzReads

Leave a Reply

