The March Wrap-Up

IMG_20130331_143802Hello April, you’re one of my favorite months!

We’ve officially lived in the French Alps for eight years this month, and I can honestly say that in that time this Southern girl has learned to deal with winter. I know how to prepare for it and how to cope with it. I send my children off to school appropriately dressed and can rest assured that in the case of a mountain blizzard, they are good to go. I can drive in the snow. I’ve even learned how to be comfortable in a house without central heating.

But I’m still a Southern girl at heart, and I love, love, love the sunshine. April, I’m hoping you’ll bring me more sun than rain this year. I need it to soak into my bones and wake me up from the hibernation of the past few months. I need to spend more time outside.

I actually went for my first run of the season yesterday, and while I was slow and couldn’t run for very long, at least I was motivated enough to get out there. That’s a good sign to me that spring is officially here. I took the above photo while standing on a little bridge that crosses a mountain stream on the path I normally use, and as you can see we’ve had plenty of rain lately to keep it fast-flowing. The ground was very soggy and I came home with my shoes caked in mud, but feeling proud of myself for getting out there.

March was a rough month for me, work-wise, and as I’m sure many of you know, work stress can easily take over your life. I had several sleepless nights and put in a lot of extra hours, but I’m hoping that it’s going to pay off for me in the near future. We’ll see. At any rate, I haven’t been very motivated to blog, being more in crisis mode. But I’m hopeful that the work level is going to ease up over the next few weeks, and I’m feeling better today than I have in a long time.

As for blogging, I’m still here. I may be shifting my focus away from blogging exclusively about books (which I haven’t always done, anyway). I’ve been taking stock lately about the way I spend my time, and there are certain things I’m going to do away with and others that I’m pushing to the forefront. I think we all need to do that from time to time.

Having rambling on quite nicely up until now, should I tell you about what I read during the month of March? Oh, is that why you came? Alright, alright.

In March I finished 7 books:

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Expats by Chris Pavone

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

Still Points North by Leigh Newman (review coming soon!)

The Serpent Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt

I especially loved The Song of Achilles and Still Points North, so get out there and read those two asap! I’m happy that I’m managing to stay on track with my goal of reading 75 books this year. As for other things (I really don’t want to use the word ‘challenges’ because it’s too depressing), well, let’s just say that I should have learned my lesson last year. I think I’ve probably read some books that would qualify for the What’s in a Name challenge, but I’m not going to focus on tallying them up right now.

I participated in #Estellagram during the month of March and managed to post lots of photos, if not a photo every day. I’m planning to do this again in April as I really enjoyed seeing everyone’s photos and sharing my own. In case you want to play along, here’s the April list of prompts:

AprilESG1-1024x1024

In terms of readalongs, I’ve got two coming up this month. I’ll be reading The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami with Book Chatter and Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neal Hurston with The Classics Club.

So, lots of fun stuff to look forward to in April. But you know what my favorite thing about April is? It’s my birthday month! And even though I’m getting older and should probably be slightly depressed at the rapid approach of middle-age, for some reason I love my birthday even more now than I did as a kid. There’s something about having a day that is just to celebrate ME that is so nice. And so I plan to enjoy it to the fullest. 🙂

Have a lovely, sun-filled and green April!

7 thoughts on “The March Wrap-Up

  1. Geoff W

    Yay for April! I just flipped my calendar and it looks so much more spring-like than March did. And good luck with everything going on at work, sometimes the stress is just what you need before the big Ah-ha moment (or at least that’s what I tell myself).

    Reply
  2. therelentlessreader

    The Song of Achilles was fab. I recommend that one to anyone who will listen to me 😉 Looks like you had a good month. Besides the work stresses that is 😦 I hope April is a better work month for you!

    Reply
  3. Ti

    So glad you are reading Wind-Up with me! And good for you on the running. I always like the idea of running, but my joints are wrecked from the lupus. I can never run for very long because of it.

    Reply
  4. Joanna @ CreateYourWorld

    Happy Birthday Beth, hope this month is easier for you! And I know what you mean about re-thinking how you spend your time, I do that regularly and I like it, it keeps me focused on the things I’m loving right then.

    Reply
  5. jennygirl

    Happy Birthday Month! Hope April is all that you want it to be.

    I think I could deal with winter better if I lived in the Alps, because it’s expected weather there, versus being in a city. The scenery would make up for it for me.

    I think it’s good to take stock every now and then. Refine our lives or processes or whatever. Change is good thing in my book.

    Hope April is better with work as well. Take care 🙂

    Reply
  6. Marg

    Yay for sunshine! And for birthday months!

    I think it is good and healthy to take a look at your blog and reevaluate! It should be constantly evolving and changing otherwise you will get bored as it doesn’t reflect your own growth and evolution!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

