Booking Through Thursday: Spring Up

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

What’s the last book that made you spring to your feet, eager to spread the word and tell everyone how much you enjoyed it?

Probably The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, because it was just amazing. This is one of the reasons I really enjoy participating in readalongs, because when you’re reading something good you get to share the experience with others in real time. I have to say, though, that I’m liking my current read, A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn, more than I thought I would. I’ve read most of her Lady Julia series and it was starting to get a bit stale for me, but this new standalone novel is really good.

What about you? What book has had you “springing” to your feet recently?

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Spring Up

  1. A.M.B.

    I really want to read The Song of Achilles. As for me, I’ve been reading mostly non-fiction lately, and while most of them have been wonderful books (like The Emperor of Maladies), I can’t say I’m screaming the names from the rooftops. Most have been either a bit too grim or too specific to my taste.

    Reply
  2. Charleen

    I keep hearing about The Song of Achilles. It’s been on my TBR since I saw it on everyone’s best-of lists last year, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.

    Reply
  3. Ti

    I remember feeling this way over The Faulty In Our Stars and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. Oh, and I am feeling that way about Wind-Up Bird too but can’t really give a final opinion on that until I finish the entire book!

    Reply
  4. Jennifer

    Great choice, I felt the same way about that book! I just finished Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings last night and I want to holler from the rooftops about how amazing it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

