It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

I hope nobody pays too close attention to what I write from one week to the next in these Monday update posts, as I’ve realized that I hardly ever end up reading “next” the books I plan to read “next” (if that makes any sense). I guess I just have a hard time sticking to a reading schedule. I must go where the wind takes me! Such is life.

So although I did finish a book this week, it wasn’t exactly what I had planned. Instead I read the latest Deanna Raybourn, A Spear of Summer Grass, which isn’t a new Lady Julia novel (for those who have read her series books) but is a new standalone. I really enjoyed it, especially the setting of 1920’s Kenya and some interesting, strong characters. I’ll probably put up a review for that one by the end of the month, as it doesn’t come out until the 30th.

Then I started reading Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, which is on my Classics Club list. I’m enjoying this one as well, although I find that I’m having to read it slowly to  follow the dialect and to get the full effect of Hurston’s writing. The Classics Club is currently doing a sync read of the novel; is anyone else participating in this?

Let’s be honest here–I’m not sure what I’ll read next. There are a few review books that I started but haven’t really gotten into, so I may go back to one of those.  Or maybe I’ll just go where the wind takes me. It’s anyone’s guess. 🙂

What are you reading this week?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Shannon (Giraffe Days)

    I’m exactly the same, Beth, I almost never read the book/s I say I’m going to read next on this meme – something else usually comes along! You just never know what you’re in the mood for until it’s time to actually pick something, right?

    I have the first four books in the Lady Grey series but I still haven’t read them! So many of my friends loved them and I accidentally bought the 4th book first, which is why I have all of them even though I don’t know if I like them yet! Whoops. Bad habit of mine. 😉

    Have a great week!

    Reply
  2. Jennifer

    I love reading on a whim as well. The only time I stick to any sort of real schedule is with library books because I can only have them for so long. Oh, and review books too. LOL..ok so when I’m actually ABLE to read on a whim I love it 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

