The April Wrap-Up

muguetHappy May Day! Here in France we offer sprigs of lily of the valley as a good luck charm to friends and family, so consider this a virtual bouquet for you all.

As of this morning, I’m officially one-third of the way to my goal of reading 75 books this year, which puts me right on track. More importantly, I’ve been reading a lot of good stuff and generally enjoying myself.  In April, I finished 6 books:

Head Over Heels by Jill Shalvis

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn

The House at Belle Fontaine by Lily Tuck

Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley (review coming soon!)

I’ve realized lately that I read a LOT of female authors–maybe something that I need to work to correct. I may have a slight prejudice, however unintentional.

I also participated in a few blogging events during the month of April, including The Estella Society’s #EstellaGram photo-a-day project and, of course, Dewey’s Read-a-thon last weekend. For the former, I didn’t take as many photos as I did in March, but I still managed to get a few good shots. And they’re doing it again this month, so feel free to join in on the instagram fun!

Another May event I’m looking forward to is Trish’s Pin It and Do It Challenge, which I participated in several times last year. I’m hoping to step up my game this time and do more than just cooking pins.

Reading-wise, I have some good books lined up for this month. I wish I could insert one of those lovely pile o’ books shots in here, but since most of what I read is in electronic format, that won’t really work. However, I do have one particular book in mind that will fulfill (yes, finally!) THREE of my challenge goals for the month in one well-written swoop. This one will count towards the Around the World in 12 Books challenge (the country for May is Belgium), the TBR Pile challenge, and it’s on my Classics Club list. That book is [insert drumroll here]:

2013-05-01 10.24.51

Anybody want to read Villette with me? This is the kind of book where a readalong would be nice to keep up my motivation, considering that it’s 600 pages long…If I were a more organized person I would have planned one.

Hope your month of May is a lovely one, and I’ll leave you with a little tribute to the first of May via The Bee Gees. Happy listening. 🙂

8 thoughts on “The April Wrap-Up

  1. Heather

    Thank you for the bouquet–lily of the valley is one of my favorite spring flowers. 🙂

    Put a call out to the Classics Club on Twitter about getting people to read Villette with you–I’ll retweet it and I’ll bet you get some takers.

    Reply
  2. Jennifer

    Your comment about female authors has me wondering about my own reading trends. I just posted my own April wrap-up. I’m going to have to take a look and see how many male authors I’ve read. Hmmm.

    Thanks for the Bee Gees song, lol! Have a great May!

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    Congratulations on being on track! I’d be interested in reading Villette with you, though I’m not sure what a readalong entails.

    I tend to read more books by female authors. I don’t mind the gender imbalance in my own reading preferences, considering the bias against female writers in the publishing and reviewing industry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

