It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

I’ve been on a bit of a series splurge this past week, reading the next two books in the Emperor’s Edge fantasy series by Lindsay Buroker. These books are really fun and I’ve been getting into the potential romance between two of the characters, so I just keep reading more. I think I’m on the next to last book that she’s written (for now), so I may need to slow down a bit to make them last longer.

I also started to read Questions of Travel by  Michelle de Kretser this week, but I’m having a hard time getting into it. It contains lots of very short vignettes and jumps back and forth in time and between characters, and to be honest I feel like I’m retaining nothing of what I read. Has anyone else read this one? Does it get better?

My husband and I took a short road trip this weekend and we started listening to The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells. It’s a fun audio, particularly when it gets to the point of the beasts starting to talk. The version we listened to has a great narrator, and we kept repeating lines to each other for the rest of the day–“It IS a man!” I’m hoping to finish this one during my commute time this week. This will also count as a Classics Club book.

And speaking of the Classics Club, I’m planning a readalong of Villette by Charlotte Brontë for this month. If you’re interested in reading along with me, the sign-up post is here.

What about you? What are you reading this week?

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Ti

    I finished Wind-Up last week so I am not really wanting to read anything right now, but I know how I am so I dove right into Mr. Peanut just to get the juices flowing. It’s one heck of a book.

    Reply
  2. Rob

    I’ve been listening to Wool by Hugh Howey and really enjoying it. I was at a giant book sale yesterday and brought home 20 novels, and I just finished my current read last night, so I’ll have a big decision when I go to read tonight!

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    Well, I’m reading “Villette” (I’m looking forward to it!), which I’ll start after I finish up John McPhee’s “A Sense of Where You Are.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

