Classics Club: May Meme

classics_club_buttonThe Classics Club has put up their monthly meme question:

Tell us about the classic book(s) you’re reading this month. You can post about what you’re looking forward to reading in May, or post thoughts-in-progress on your current read(s).

I’m reading (or about to start) three classic books this month: Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neal Hurston, The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells, and Villette by Charlotte Brontë.

1. Their Eyes Were Watching God – I’m reading this one for the Classics Club Sync Read, and although I’m enjoying it, I’m finding it pretty slow going. The text itself is not particularly difficult, but there is a lot of dialect which I have to sound out in my head to be able to process, and it tends to disrupt the flow of my reading. Otherwise, I’m enjoying the story and the character of Janie in particular. I don’t feel like I have a really coherent opinion of it yet, but hopefully that will change by the time I’ve finished the book.

2. The Island of Dr. Moreau – I started listening to this one on audio during a recent road trip with my husband, and it’s a lot of fun so far. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect, as I’d never read any H.G. Wells before, but the language is very accessible and the story is interesting if a bit predictable so far. I’m still trying to figure out exactly what is meant by “vivisection”, though. Is this like surgery with no anesthesia?

3. Villette – I’m getting ready to start this one on Sunday for my Villette readalong. This will be my first time hosting a readalong, so I’m really looking forward to it! I’m also looking forward to finally reading this book that has been sitting on my shelf for years (as had Their Eyes Were Watching God).

What classic books are you reading this month?

6 thoughts on “Classics Club: May Meme

  1. Jennifer

    I feel like I may have read Their Eyes Were Watching God..but good grief maybe I only saw the movie? Time to remedy that! Good luck with your classic reads!

    Reply
  2. Geoff W

    Oh I loved The Island of Dr. Moreau (and I quite enjoyed the young adult spin-off I read The Madman’s Daughter. Villette was good too, but it was long, like most classics apparently! Sounds like a good bunch!

    Reply
  3. Trish

    I’m about ready to swear off readalongs for a while and I’m kind of grateful that Villette isn’t on my shelf otherwise I’d be tempted to join you. I’ve read and loved Their Eyes once or twice but I think next time I might listen to it so as to not be bogged down in reading the dialect. It’s such a beautiful book.

    Reply
  4. Trish

    Also. I know this sounds funny and you might not do it when others are around, but reading Their Eyes out loud helps a bit…

    Reply
  5. dangermom

    Vivisection was taking an animal apart while it was still alive, yep. Moreau is taking it a step farther and performing massive surgeries on animals. No anesthesia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

