The May Wrap-Up

MyCloudTomorrow is the first of June, and we’ve yet to have anything resembling a spring in my part of the world. Meanwhile, I know some of you are dealing with heatwaves and crazy up and down weather. If anyone still doubted that climate change is real, they only have to look at the state of the planet at the moment to get a clue.

Anyway. I’m trying to stay positive, but it doesn’t look like we’re going to have much of a summer, either. A colleague of mine told me that there’s an old expression in French–“Les deux hivers se touchent“–which basically means that the two winters meet in the middle, with no other season in between. That’s what this year feels like so far.

But it’s almost June, and regardless of the cold and rain (and snow, a little higher up), it will mean the official start of summer, and we have lots of fun things planned for June. We’ll be going to a wedding and a concert, and the latter will mean a weekend away for me and my husband (in Italy!)

On the reading/blogging front, it’s been a quiet month. I’ve been very busy at work since what feels like forever, but part of that has been preparing for an audit that took place this past week, so things should be slowing down a bit. It’s meant that I haven’t had a lot of free time, and what I’ve had has been spent mostly off-line. I am reading, though, and this month I finished five books and hope to finish two more over the weekend.

In May, I read:

Dark Currents by Lindsay Buroker

Deadly Games by Lindsay Buroker

Conspiracy by Lindsay Buroker

Blood and Betrayal by Lindsay Buroker

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay (review coming soon!)

You may notice a theme there. I think because of all the work-related stress, I really needed to read something for pure entertainment, and the Buroker’s ‘Emperor’s Edge’ fantasy series definitely fit the bill. I’ve downloaded the latest one, which just came out this past month, but I’m determined to finish up a few other books before I read it (although I really, really want to know what happens with Amarynth and Sicarius).

I also hosted my first ever readalong this month, of Charlotte Brontë’s Villette. This will be finishing up in the next few days, and it’s been great. It’s also inspired me to read more Brontë books–I’m planning to start The Tenant of Wildfell Hall soon.

I participated in Trish’s Pin It and Do It challenge for the month of May, but that pesky lack of free time meant I didn’t get much done. I think I made a new recipe or two, but that’s about it. And #Estellagram didn’t really happen this month, either. Oh, well.

I’ve got some great books coming up for review in the month of June, so be on the lookout for those. And I hope wherever you are that the month of June is one full of fun and (at least a little) sun.

4 thoughts on “The May Wrap-Up

  1. Alpine Mummy

    I know what you mean – it’s so cold here in the French Alps, can’t believe there’s snow all around us and it’s nearly June! And I’m missing all thse deadlines I set myself for June, because the summer seems so far away! Looking forward to reading your reviews 🙂

    Reply
  2. Melissa @ Camino Literario

    The exact opposite happened here in the southern hemisphere! It is colder than it should be for the time of the year! Winters in Lima are mild but it looks like we’re going to have a really cold one (in comparison to previous winters because we don’t have rain or snow over here). Not that I’m complaining after the boiling hot summer we endured.

    I’m so glad you are reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, it is one of my favorite books ever. I will be looking forward to your thoughts on it.

    Reply
  3. Jennifer

    It took forever for spring to show it’s face here. To be honest, I’d be thrilled to have autumn all year ’round! Today has been one big thunderstorm, I love those!

    I hope you have a great June!

    Reply
  4. Geoff W

    Loved The Tennant of Wildfell Hall, I can’t wait to see what you have to say about it! Hopefully you get some warmer weather, it’s been too hot here this past week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

