Booking Through Thursday: Dream Cast

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Today’s question is always a fun one to think about:

And while we’re thinking about books converted to tv/movies. Do you ever sit and wonder who could be cast as your favorite characters? (Please feel free to give examples!)

What actors do you think have done particularly excellent jobs with some of your favorite characters?

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of books being converted into tv/movies. Unless it’s an action-packed book, the translation to the screen tends to be disappointing for me, because a screenplay can seldom convey the same beauty as an author’s words. This isn’t to say that film and tv can’t be beautiful and moving–of course they can, but once I’ve had the experience of reading the book, a different version of the same story doesn’t usually work for me. Although I do have to say that when I was growing up, I loved the Anne of Green Gables mini-series even more than the books–there are some terrific actors in them, and if you’ve never seen them you really should.

One series of books that I’ve become hooked on recently and which I think would translate very well to the screen is The Emperor’s Edge series by Lindsay Buroker. I would love to see who would be cast as the different characters. For Sicarius, I could see someone like Simon Baker playing him, although he wouldn’t be able to smile so much. For Amarynth I could see a toned-down Katharine McPhee.

What about you? Any favorite books that you’d love to see converted into tv/movies?

11 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Dream Cast

  1. Andrea King

    I understand what you mean. Although, I like to appreciate how they try to stick somewhat close to the book but made it into their own movie, their own creating, their own art (this is coming from a person who considers movie-making an art). Here’s my BTT.

    Andrea K. @ Books and Bindnigs

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    Honestly, I probably don’t know enough contemporary actors to cast a book-to-movie adaptation. I’m not a huge fan of such movies, but I do like adaptations of classics, like Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, and Elizabeth Gaskell.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      You have to see them! I own them on DVD and have made my girls watch them already. 🙂 The first two are much better than the last one (which was made later and is a bit ridiculous).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

