Audiobook Week: Mid-Week Meme

audiobookweekbutton_zpsdb6e126c

Most recent audiobook:

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra

Impressions:

I really enjoyed this book, and I liked both of the narrators in their respective roles. My only complaint would that Malhotra (who narrates the chapters from Park’s point of view) does the voice of Eleanor in a very girly and slightly ridiculous way, like a guy pretending to be girl–which of course he is, technically. Otherwise, I loved it, and Rowell has talked here about how much she enjoyed the audiobook, too.

Current audiobook:

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, narrated by Jayne Entwistle

I just downloaded this one from my library website yesterday, so I can’t say yet if I’ll like it. I’ve heard good things about this mystery series, though. Has anyone listened to other books by this narrator?

Favorite narrator you’ve discovered recently:

Mark Bramhall, who narrates the character of Clem Barefield in A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash. I could listen to his voice all day–it’s kind of deep and gravely and just lovely, and he does an amazing Southern accent. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more audiobooks that he has narrated.

One title from your TBL (to be listened) stack:

I downloaded two Georgette Heyer books that are narrated by (sigh) Richard Armitage, and I’ve been saving them for a rainy day. A rainy day when I have several free hours to sit and listen to John Thornton whispering in my ear.

13 thoughts on “Audiobook Week: Mid-Week Meme

  1. lakesidemusing

    Mark Bramhall is one of my favorites, too. Just loved his narration of The Big Rock Candy Mountain by Wallace Stegner. A Land More Kind Than Home is on my wish list.

    Reply
  2. Kristin T.

    I’ve been wanting to read the Alan Bradley books – maybe I should try them on audio. Will be anxious to see what you think of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. I did listen to a book narrated by Jane Entwistle – I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella – and I enjoyed listening to her. Do you know if she narrates all the books in the Bradley series?

    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

    Reply
  3. Bella

    I read the first Alan Bradley book and want to listen to the rest on audio. It’s such a awesome mystery series and I’m hoping it’s fabulous on audio.

    I know what you mean about Eleanor & Park. I read the book (not the audio) but I couldn’t imagine her voice as overly girly.

    Reply
  4. Laurie C

    I read Eleanor and Park and Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie both in print, but I’m definitely planning on listening to A Land More Kind Than Home on audio one of these days!

    Reply
  5. Lucy

    I can see what you mean about Malhotra’s narration in E&P 🙂 Looking forward to checking out Mark Bramhall’s audiobooks sometime.

    Reply
  6. Brooke

    Richard Armitage narrates books? Oh dear. Going to have to check those out immediately. I’ve been looking for some audio recs and will be checking out the Wiley Cash book now!

    Reply
  7. A.M.B.

    I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Eleanor & Park (I read Attachments by the same author and really liked it)! I’m hoping to read it soon (in print). As for John Thornton… well, yeah. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

