It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

I finished two books this past week–Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (on audio) and Forged in Blood by Lindsay Buroker. Both were good, although I especially enjoyed Eleanor and Park. If you haven’t read that one yet, what are you waiting for? I’ll definitely be looking for more books by Rowell.

At the moment I’m reading two e-books, Imperial Woman by Pearl Buck and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. I’m not far enough into either one to pass judgement yet, but I immediately got caught up in Imperial Woman, which is a fictionalized biography of the last empress in China and so far highly readable.  Life as We Knew It is one that I checked out from the library and is the first in a dystopian young adult trilogy. So far it reminds me quite a bit of a book I read earlier this year, The Age of Miracles by Karen Walker.

I’ve also downloaded (but haven’t started listening to yet) the audiobook of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, which I’m looking forward to.

What about you? What are you reading this week?

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Heather

    My daughter and I both want to read Eleanor & Park–we’re just waiting to catch it at the library.

    I’m currently reading Naked Lunch by William Burroughs…and I have no idea what’s happening. Haha! Thank goodness I’m almost done.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I do love Flavia–really enjoying that one, although I kind of wish I had the print version as the audio narrator is a bit whiny. I’m looking forward to reading more Rainbow Rowell, too!

      Reply
  2. Shannon (Giraffe Days)

    Aside from Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver, I can’t decide what to read next!

    I didn’t like Life As We Knew It very much at all, sadly. (I was a bit disappointed by The Age of Miracles too, come to think of it – I think my expectations of apocalyptic fiction are fairly high.)

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I wasn’t a big fan of The Age of Miracles, either, and so far this one is actually worse. It’s a shame, as I love the premise of both books. Surely someone out there has done something similar and done it well?

      Reply
  3. Lindsey

    I will be reading both Eleanor and Park and Attachments this summer. If I keep hearing rave reviews, it might have to be next week!
    Have a wonderful week and enjoy your reads. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

