Booking Through Thursday: Moving

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

The question of the week:

What kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss! (grin)

I feel pretty well qualified to answer this question, as I’ve moved more times than I can count. When I was a kid, our family moved at least every 3-4 years, and since I was an early reader I had to move my books with me. As a result, I’ve lost a lot of books that I would otherwise have kept, and the only ones I’ve managed to keep from my childhood are the Little House on the Prairie series and a copy of Charlotte’s Web. I might still have the Anne of Green Gables books somewhere, but I’m not positive. This is a bit sad for me as there are so many books that I loved as a child which I wish I still had to share with my daughter. Of course, I can always buy new copies, but it’s not exactly the same as giving her the actual books I read myself.

As an adult, I continued to move around until seven years ago when we finally settled down enough to buy our own place. Because several of those moves have been international ones, there are very few books that I’ve been able to hang onto, and even now I’m particular about what I keep–once you’re used to traveling light, it’s tough to change the habit.

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Moving

  1. Vilia

    I still have some children’s books that survived The Great Cull of 2000. They’re now nearly 30 years old and looking their age but I can’t bear to throw them away. Just like you, I know new editions won’t be quite the same. Here’s mine Backchatting Books BTT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

