The July Wrap-Up

View from a hiking spot on our vacation.

View from a hiking spot on our vacation.

I loved July. I think I spend more time reading this past month than I have in, well, as long as I can remember. Thanks to our two-week vacation by the sea, I had plenty of opportunities to settle down with a good book just about everywhere: outside on the porch of our little bungalow, by the pool, sitting on the shore while the kids made sand castles and got pulled around on a float by their dad. It was lovely.

In July, I finished (drumroll, please)…11 books!

Life as We Knew It Susan Beth Pfeffer

The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer

This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Honeymoon in Paris by Jojo Moyes

Finding Colin Firth by Mia March

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

This is Paradise by Kristiana Kahakauwila

The Bones of Paris by Laurie R. King

The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Forged in Blood II by Lindsay Buroker

Two of these that I haven’t reviewed yet but which are excellent reads are Boy Meets Boy and The Glass Castle. I need to review the former, in particular, because I loved it so much that I need to share what it meant to me, so look for that one soon.

Two of these–the ones with Paris in the title–counted for the Paris in July event, which I always enjoy. And coming up in August, I’ll be taking part in Austen in August hosted by Roof Beam Reader, so you can expect to be hearing a lot about my love for Jane in the next month.

Hope everyone is having a nice summer and staying cool-ish. For me, it’s back to work, but as everyone in France takes the month of August off, it should be very quiet around the office. My youngest daughter is turning 6 this month, too, so I have a birthday picnic extravaganza to plan. I haven’t decided yet what to get her for her present. Any great ideas for 6-year-olds that live in a tiny apartment (hint: nothing big)? I think if I asked her she would say she wanted one of these.

Happy August, everyone!

11 thoughts on “The July Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      I can narrow it down to three, does that help? 🙂

      This is Paradise
      Boy Meets Boy
      The Glass Castle

      You should read all of these–good, good stuff.

      P.S. No dogs allowed by order of the Dad.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

