It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

I’m on vacation this week (yes, again–one of the many reasons I love living in France), although this time I’m not going anywhere. The girls and I will be on our own for a few days, then it’s my youngest birthday and we’ll have a celebration with family.

This past week, I re-read Persuasion by Jane Austen, part of my Austen in August efforts. It always amazes me how reading the same book multiple times can result in such different reading experiences. I still loved it, but certain aspects of the book struck me in a way that they didn’t the first time around and I noticed so much more. Once I get my thoughts together, I’ll be putting up a post.

I’m currently reading a couple of books that I have scheduled for review later this month, including Late Lights by Kara Weiss (short stories) and Song of the River by Sue Harrison, which is set in prehistoric Alaska. Once I’ve finished those, I’ll settle back in with some more Austen, probably Sense and Sensibility.

What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Brooke

    I recently reread Persuasion and it struck me very differently this time around as well. It’s such a short little book that it’s most surprising when you find something new to discover. Have a great week, Beth. Jealous of your holiday.

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    I love re-reading Jane Austen! I revisited Persuasion in May, around the time I read Diana Peterfreund’s young adult re-telling of it (For Darkness Shows the Stars). My husband has also been reading Austen, but for the first time, and he wrote a review of Sense and Sensibility for my blog at the end of May. I’m reading Mansfield Park right now.

    Reply
  3. Kelly

    I completely agree about re-reads, especially when there is a big gap between them. Sometimes I feel like I’m reading a totally new novel the second time around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

