The Classics Spin (again)!

classics_club_buttonThe Classics Club has come up with a fun way to get us motivated and reading our list books–the Classics Spin! This will be my second attempt at reading a spin book, and hopefully I’ll be more successful this time around.

The rules are:

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by October 1, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

So here goes!

Five books I’m dreading/hesitant to read

1. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackery

2. The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton

3. Une Vie by Guy de Maupassant

4. Mythology by Edith Hamilton

5. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

Five books I can’t WAIT to read

6. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë

7. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

8. A Room With a View by E.M. Forster

9. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell

10. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Five books I’m neutral about

11. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

12. Emma by Jane Austen

13. Antigone by Sophocles

14. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

15. Ceremony by Leslie Marmon Silko

Five re-reads

16. The Country of the Pointed Firs by Sarah Orne Jewett

17. The Awakening by Kate Chopin

18. Middlemarch by George Eliot

19. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

20. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

3 thoughts on “The Classics Spin (again)!

  1. JaneGS

    You absolutely cannot lose with that list, although I’ve not heard of #15 or #16. Vanity Fair is long but is one of my all-time favorite books–I’ve read it three times now, and each time I like it more. I read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn for the first time a year or so ago and, oh how I wish I had read it as a teenager. Such a great story.

    Hope you get a good number!

    Reply
  2. Karen K.

    Numbers 7 – 10 are all favorites, so I hope you get one of those — Wives and Daughters is just brilliant. I’ve read Vanity Fair and it was good, but a slog in parts. Custom of the Country is okay, not my favorite Wharton. And I just hated Wuthering Heights. Emma made me crazy in parts — she can be a really frustrating character, but it all turns out well in the end. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

