Currently…

SCN_0014

Me, circa 1980-ish. I am no longer blonde, nor do I have a hippity hop. Damnit.

Currently, I’m…

Loving: The quiet of the house on a rare day off alone. Looking through old photographs and postcards. If anyone ever wonders where my youngest got her blonde hair, I think this photo will answer that question.

Thinking about: My brothers. Even though it was my choice, it’s hard to live far away from family, and I wish that my brothers and I were closer. I’m envious of people who have strong relationships with their siblings.

Anticipating: The rentrée (back to school time in two weeks) and getting my girls home and back into a routine. I miss them.

Listening to: Snow Patrol. For some reason, this song below really clicked with the book I just finished reading. Do you ever have that happen?

Eating: Tomatoes from my mother-in-law’s garden. Lots of gazpacho. Did I mention tomatoes?

Wishing:  That I could make time slow down and speed up at will. I want that superpower.

What are you up to today?

13 thoughts on “Currently…

    1. Too Fond Post author

      I felt the same way when I was reading The Shadow of the Wind and I had just bought the new (at the time) Coldplay album. I will forever associate those two things.

      And thanks. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Ti

    I just noticed the new look of your blog. I love it!

    I am at work at the moment. The university starts school next week so the past two weeks have been getting ready for the 45K students that will be wandering around come Monday. I spend my lunch reading under the shade of trees and it’s nice and quiet now. But come Monday, I will have to go into hiding or be bombarded by lost students trying to find their way.

    I wish I was independently wealthy so I can take a year off to travel and read in all my dream locales. Totally doable, right?

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, Ti! I was wondering if anyone would notice. I worked on it over the weekend, and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out.

      So you work in higher ed, too? There are so many of us in the book blogging world who do–we should form a club! 🙂 Good luck facing the coming assault.

      I’m with you on the traveling and reading.

      Reply
  2. Kelly

    Great pic! 🙂 I understand re: the brothers. Both of mine live about 8 hours away from me (in the same town) so we don’t get to have as close of a relationship as I’d like. I went down to visit them in June and made the three of us a spaghetti dinner, and realized it was the first time the three of us had shared a meal like that in YEARS. It was fun but the realization made me sad.

    I am in higher ed as well (or, well, kind of…was for the last 8 years but just started as a stay-at-home mom…still teaching 2 online courses while home though). What I mean is: I understand the pain of opening weekends!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      It is sad. I try to appreciate the times we are together, but it would be nice to have them really be a part of our lives (for my kids, too).

      Reply
  3. Laurie C

    Our garden tomatoes are coming in so late this year! I can’t believe summer’s almost over already; I’ve hardly had any corn, tomatoes, zucchini, all the stuff that’s so good in summertime!

    Reply
  4. Brooke

    Love the eighties vibe of your photo! And I need that super power as well so I could fast forward to Friday. Yay for tomatoes! Have a great weekend Beth!

    Reply
  5. Claire 'Word by Word'

    I can so relate to all of this. Great to have family visiting at the moment, this month we are able to drive to the beach to see them, just like regular life used to be before living abroad. So good for everyone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

