Year One of the Classics Club

classics_club_button

It’s my one year anniversary of joining the Classics Club! If you see that widget over on the right hand side of the page, you’ll notice that I’ve accepted the challenge of reading 50 classic novels in 5 years (August 26, 2017), and one of those years has now passed. So today I’m reflecting on the progress I’ve made toward this goal and what being part of the Classics Club means to me.

I decided to join the CC because I’d seen fellow bloggers signing up and it sounded like fun, but also because I sometimes need a little motivation to read the classics on my own. I studied literature at university and even taught it for several years after, but I don’t necessarily turn to the classics as my first choice in reading for pleasure. However, I do feel like classics are considered as such for a reason, and although my definition of a classic may be a bit broader than for some (not just books by dead white guys), these are books that I knew I would get something out of reading–whether I loved them, hated them, or fell somewhere in between.

So, over the past year I have:

  • read 5 out of the 50 books on my list, or 10%
  • not always read the books I thought I would
  • not always enjoyed the books I thought I would (and vice-versa)
  • participated in Classics Club events, including memes, the CC Spin, and a sync read of a book which I still haven’t finished *ahem*
  • made a lot of new friends
  • added a lot of additional classic books to my TBR list

All in all, it has been a great experience, and although I’ve not made as much progress as I’d hoped, for some reason that is no longer the most important thing. My goal is not just to be able to check off 50 classic books read, but to gain an appreciation for the classics, to have fun, and to maybe learn something along the way, and in that light I think I’m doing okay. I’m definitely looking forward to the four years to come.

P. S. Classics Club moderators and fellow members–you guys are the best. Thanks for letting me hang out and talk books with you.

18 thoughts on “Year One of the Classics Club

  1. lauratfrey

    So which was your favourite so far? I remember your Villette readalong and I’m still hoping to squeeze that one in this year. I wish I’d read along to North and South, that would have been fun!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I don’t know if I had a favorite, really. I liked both Villette and North and South, though the latter is a much easier read. The one that surprised me the most was A Christmas Carol, which I didn’t expect to enjoy so much. I’m going to make re-reading that one an annual tradition for the holidays.

      Reply
      1. lauratfrey

        I don’t know if I could read A Christmas Carol, as my children have subjected me to hours and hours of A Muppet’s Christmas Carol – which is quite good, actually, but I don’t think I could picture any of the characters as human, at this point!

  2. Mabel

    “For some reason that is no longer the most important thing.”

    Exactly. It’s not about numbers, but content: content in the book, and contentment in the reader. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Eszter

    Congrats on your anniversary! My first year is also almost over, and I absolutely agree with your points: “not always read the books I thought I would” and “not always enjoyed the books I thought I would”. And you’re of course right that it’s more important to have fun than to read a certain number of books. So, keep calm and read on! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, and congrats to you, too! πŸ™‚ I look forward to being surprised by what I read and my reactions to it in the year to come as well.

      Reply
  4. Riv @ Bookish Realm

    Congratulations! I joined in February and after years of not picking up a single classics book, have now finished about 10! I’d say it’s definitely thanks to Classics Club. I just recently purchased North and South and looking forward to it.

    Reply
  5. Heather

    Your goal is the whole point, so you’re doing it “right!”

    I’m very glad you joined us…especially since it brought us the greatest Moby-Dick readalong EVER. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Heather

      Wait…it is sooooo early for me to be commenting on blogs…I got which blog I was reading confused. I’m such a dork. You didn’t do the Moby-Dick readalong. Der. Haha! Sigh.

      I still super glad you joined us for the club!

      Reply
  6. JaneGS

    Congrats on your first anniversary–10% of 50 books is a good start, and I looked at your list. You tackled some hefty, albeit great, tomes. North and South is one of my all-time favorite books!

    It is interested how some books are better and some don’t live up to expectations.

    Nice clubbing with you!

    Reply
  7. Nish

    Agree with you. I too started off last year with 50 books in 5 years, but it’s really been a more leisurely journey than that. and more to the point, I am enjoying this classical reading journey πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

