R.I.P. VIII: Readers Imbibing Peril

RIP8main1It’s that time of year again! R.I.P. (Readers Imbibing Peril) is a two-month extravaganza of “all things ghostly and ghastly” according to its host, Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings. I participated in R.I.P. for the first time last year and it wasn’t a great success for me, but I’m hoping to do better this time (no stinkers, please!) so during the month of September and October I’ll be reading books that can be classified as:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

You can choose different levels of participation during R.I.P. season, and I’ve decided to go for…

rip8peril1st

in which I’ll read four books of any length that I feel fit the R.I.P. definition of literature.  Just looking at my TBR list, I’ve identified some possible candidates:

Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll – “A ghostly tale about love, loss and forgiveness with an instant classic feel” (from the publisher)

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins – “Pursuing questions of identity and insanity along the paths and corridors of English country houses and the madhouse, The Woman in White is the first and most influential of the Victorian genre that combined Gothic horror with psychological realism.” (from Goodreads)

The Twelve by Justin Cronin – “A heart-stopping thriller rendered with masterful literary skill, The Twelve is a grand and gripping tale of sacrifice and survival.” (from the publisher)

The Seduction of Water by Carol Goodman – A novel of suspense centered around a woman’s search for the truth about her mother’s life and mysterious death.

I hope to see some of you around during R.I.P. season and look forward to sharing the chills and thrills!

13 thoughts on “R.I.P. VIII: Readers Imbibing Peril

  1. Heather

    This will be the first year I participate, and I’ll be reading The Historian with the Estella Society (for a readalong). I’m looking forward to finally reading it.

    Reply
  2. Samantha

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Woman in White! I’ve read a few books by Carol Goodman and enjoyed them all. Good luck with this challenge 🙂

    Reply
  3. Carl V. Anderson

    Oh but I do need to get to The Woman in White. I bought it several years back when it seemed everyone was reading it for RIP and I still haven’t gotten to it. Bad me!

    Great to have you joining in with us for another eerily good time!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Currently… | Too Fond

  5. Pingback: Two R.I.P. Movies | Too Fond

  6. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

