The August Wrap-Up

uriage-treeAlthough I’m sad that the summer is winding down, I have to admit feeling a little thrill that it’s September. Even though I’m neither a student nor a teacher anymore, I still love “back to school” time and all the anticipation (and some nerves) that it involves. It’s a month that feels full of possibility. Or maybe it’s just the romantic in me, finding beauty in the slowing down of things in the natural world as our thoughts turn more inward, to the activity of the mind and the imagination. Can you tell that I love fall?

Anyway, it’s not fall yet, and we’ve spent a lovely end of August/beginning of September weekend staying out-of-doors. My girls came back from two weeks at their grandparents’ house yesterday and we went to a music festival here in our village. Sunshine, beer, and good music–what could be better? My favorite act was the Big Ukulélé Syndicate, who played ukulele versions of popular hits and were a total riot.  Then, this morning we walked a bit in the country and took my model airplane out for its inaugural flight. I managed to fly it about a dozen times before crashing it on its nose, so it’s off to the repair shop (i.e. my husband’s desk) before we can fly again.

Back to the books! In August, I finished seven books:

The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Moranthology by Caitlin Moran

Late Lights by Kara Weiss

Song of the River by Sue Harrison

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

I had a great time participating in Austen in August with many of my fellow bloggers (thanks, Adam!) and I finished Persuasion. I also started Sense and Sensibility, but I’m still working on that one. I enjoyed all of the books I read this month, but I have to give a special shout-out to Song of the River because Sue Harrison is a lovely person and actually tweeted me to let me know how much she liked my review! Twitter is really the coolest thing.

As for the last two books by Elizabeth Wein, I’ll have a review up in the next week or so, but all I can say is WOW. These books totally captured my heart and soul. I was so caught up in them that I had a dream that I was able to fly (the stories center around female pilots during WWII) and I cried many times because I found them so very moving. I have a lot to say about both, so be on the lookout for that review.

I’ll leave you with some rockin’ tunes from the BUS (Big Ukulélé Syndicate). Happy September, all!

16 thoughts on “The August Wrap-Up

  1. Jaclyn

    Sounds like a fun end to the summer for you! I’ve heard some wonderful things about “Code Name Verity.” Putting that one on my list to check out soon!

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    I love September, too! With my oldest two heading to Kindergarten next week, I’m going to have to readjust to the academic calendar. It’s exciting! As for August, I didn’t get to read nearly as much as I had wanted (because my work expanded well beyond its normal boundaries). I’m hoping September will be better!

    Reply
  3. Brooke

    I want to read Elizabeth Wein’s books so badly! As soon as my book buying challenge is over and I’m able to order books again, these might be in my very first book haul. Haven’t heard a single solitary negative comment about them.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’ve heard a few people say they found them hard to get into at first (maybe because of the historical context), but I didn’t experience that personally.

      Reply
  4. Claire 'Word by Word'

    Great August and thanks for mentioning the Elizabeth Wein books, I hadn’t heard of them but I am sure I am about to hear more.

    I’m in two minds about September, I’ve enjoyed the slower pace of August and feeling a little overwhelmed by Sept approaching, my daughter starting high school and launching a new business in London that is dragging me away from home. I know once it all starts happening things will settle down, and maybe I will even get to read more, August was impossible, no time out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

