A to Z Bookish Survey

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024Hey, it’s Sunday! I saw this survey in a few places, most recently over at Trish’s, and it seemed like a fun Sunday thing to do. Feel free to play along.

Author you’ve read the most books from: Just looking at my bookshelves, I’d have to say Alexander McCall Smith, because he has some really long-running series.

Best Sequel Ever: I liked the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy, Catching Fire, the best of the three. And although it’s not technically a sequel, Rose Under Fire was a great (and arguably ever better book) follow-up to Code Name Verity.

Currently Reading: State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (in print) and The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (e-book).

Drink of Choice While Reading: Tea.

E-reader or Physical Book? I usually have one of each going all the time, but I probably read more e-books than print overall.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: The guys I dated in high school tended to be smart and artistic but pretty self-centered when you got down to it (hey, there’s a reason I didn’t marry any of them). Maybe someone like Dash from Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. I know, I need to shut up about this book, but come on.

Hidden Gem Book: Rich in Love by Josephine Humpreys. I guess it’s not really hidden since they made a movie out of it, but so worth reading.

Important Moment in your Reading Life: When I started book blogging. It really gave my reading life a much needed kick in the pants.

Just Finished: The Twelve by Justin CroninI thought it was a worthy sequel and well-written–I’m looking forward to the third and final book.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: Anything that promotes violence or misogyny. I won’t name names, but you know who you are and don’t try to hide it behind “literary expression”. A-hem.

Longest Book You’ve Read: Probably Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.

Major book hangover because of: Most recently from Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

Number of Bookcases You Own: We only have two freestanding bookcases, as most of our books are on shelves hung on the walls to take advantage of our high ceilings. If you count individual shelves, there are twelve just for my books.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: Since I’ve started book blogging, I haven’t really had the leisure for re-reads (too many books!) but I’ve read Pride and Prejudice and To Kill a Mockingbird several times each. Someday I want to find the time to re-read all of Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series.

Preferred Place To Read: The couch when I’m at home or the park bench across the street when I’m outside.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: I love this quote from Cheryl Strayed’s Wild:

That perhaps being amidst the undesecrated beauty of the wilderness meant I too could be undesecrated, regardless of what I’d lost or what had been taken from me, regardless of the regrettable things I’d done to others or myself or the regrettable things that had been done to me. Of all the things I’d been skeptical about, I didn’t feel skeptical about this: the wilderness had a clarity that included me.

Reading Regret: That I feel compelled to finish books even when they’re not working for me. I waste a lot of time that way.

Series You Started And Need To Finish: Kelley Armstrong’s Otherworld series. I think I’ve read all but the last one (or two).

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: Case Histories by Kate Atkinson, The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, and The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller.

Unapologetic Fangirl For: Joshilyn Jackson.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others: The next book in Julia Spencer-Fleming’s Russ/Clare mystery series.

Worst Bookish Habit: Not reading the books that I have on my shelves.

X Marks The Spot – Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: City of God by Beverley Swerling. Haven’t read it yet–what did I just say?

Your latest book purchase: I just bought Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell because it was on sale (only 4.99 for the e-book!)

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): The Twelve by Justin Cronin, but that’s partly because I had insomnia and finishing the book was just a perk.

5 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Trish

    You’re kidding me about Rich in Love! I picked up that book at a library sale years ago and because I had never heard anything about it I finally donated it back to the library during a purge last year. Bummer!!

    And your worst habit could be mine too. Or buying books I NEED now and not reading them for years. Ha!

    Reply
  2. Brooke

    I love this survey! Your answers are great. I can’t believe I’ve never read any Joshilyn Jackson. I own two of her books including her newest that comes out in a couple of months. I also haven’t finished Kelley Armstrong’s series and need to get on that because I do love it so.

    Reply
  3. Emily Woods

    Love it! One more person joins you club of not reading the books lying on the shelves at home 😛 I’m gonna share this survey with my friends. The last time I conducted a fun survey on SoGoSurvey, I got such whacky answers from friends! Continue with the good work! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

