The September Wrap-Up

septemberSeptember was a hectic month for me. I didn’t get very much reading done, what with back-to-school and multiple deadlines at work, but I enjoyed everything that I did read. So there’s that.

In September, I finished four books:

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

The Twelve by Justin Cronin

Cartwheel by Jennifer duBois

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

I’m hoping things will slow down a bit in October, but honestly I kind of doubt it. At any rate, I have some good stuff coming up this month. There’s my continued R.I.P. reading (I’m about 20% into The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins), and I’ll be tackling Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon next.

If you’re looking for a R.I.P.-themed reading event this month, I saw that Unputdownables is hosting a readalong of Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. I’m afraid to commit to it at this point because I have a lot of scheduled reviews to prepare, but it looks like a lot of fun. There’s also a great book blogging event coming up mid-month which I will definitely be taking part in–Dewey’s Read-a-thon! This is on October 12th, so if you’ve never done Dewey’s before I encourage you to check it out. It’s awesome.

How was your month of September? Do you have anything special planned for October?

5 thoughts on “The September Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      State of Wonder was definitely my favorite–so, so good. I enjoyed Cartwheel, too, but I didn’t feel as invested in the characters as SOW. I really want to read Burial Rites.

      Hope you have a great October! 🙂

      Reply
  1. Brooke

    I didn’t read as much as I wanted to in September either, but your list looks like a good one. Like Jennifer asked, did you have a favorite? Everyone has been singing the praises of Cartwheel lately.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      See above. 😉 Cartwheel is an interesting story and definitely well written, but I didn’t get as invested in it as the other. There’s a certain emotional distance between the events of the book and the narration that lends itself to the way the story is told (you’re never sure exactly whose opinion/version of events to trust) but it also keeps you from caring too much about any one character. Does that make sense?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

