Mother-Daughter Reading Day

rainbow-booksHere in France, most elementary school children don’t have school on Wednesdays*. They have a four-day week (four looong days) but Wednesdays are our little “mini weekend”, when the girls and I get to hang out and do activities and errands and just spend time together. Even though it can get busy with all that we try to cram into one day, I love Wednesdays.

Anyway, because the girls and I were home today, my oldest daughter was reading as usual. She finished a book that she really enjoyed and, as I’ve heard so many times in the past few years, she said, “Mom, you’ve got to read this!” I love how enthusiastic she gets but I have to be honest and say that I rarely find the time to read the books that she recommends to me, and I realized that I need to correct this. So I told her that next Wednesday it’s going to be an official Mother-Daughter Reading Day. The rules are that I have to read any book that she wants me to and vice-versa.

So now I’m trying to think of what book I should get her to read. Her favorites are the Harry Potter books, but she also loves Erin Hunter’s Warriors series and really any kind of mystery/adventure stories for kids. She’ll be 10 in December and has a good reading level but is still very much a little girl, so nothing too “mature”.

Any suggestions? I’d really appreciate ideas. I’d like to get her to read something that she wouldn’t necessarily pick up on her own but that will just rock her world.

*This will unfortunately change next year as the government has voted to extend the four and a half day week to all schools (elementary, middle and high school). Some schools have already made the switch this year, but everyone has to in 2014.

14 thoughts on “Mother-Daughter Reading Day

  1. Jaclyn

    What fun! I love the idea of mother-daughter reading day – I may just have to steal it when my peanut is big enough to read for herself (although she now does point to pictures of kitties in her books and say “Kih! Kih!”). As for a book suggestion – maybe FROM THE MIXED-UP FILES OF MRS. BASIL E. FRANKWEILER? That was one of my favorites when I was a kid, and I think I read it for the first time around age ten. Another one I read around that age was A WRINKLE IN TIME, and I highly recommend that as well. Have fun, and please let us know what you pick!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I haven’t read the first book you mention, although I’ve heard of it–will have to check that one out. A Wrinkle in Time is a good one. I’m definitely putting that one on the short list.

      Sounds like Peanut is well on the way to being a reader. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Jaclyn

        MRS. BASIL would be a great choice. It’s about a nine-year-old girl and her little brother who run away from home (to “send a message” about properly appreciating them, heh!) and live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC. And while they’re there, they solve a mystery! So much fun. I just loved it when I was your daughter’s age. Hope she has a great time with whatever book you pick! 🙂

  2. Kathy

    How about the “shoe” books by Noel Streatfeild? (Meg Ryan mentions them in the movie, “You’ve Got Mail”)

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    Oh, that sounds like so much fun! I second Jaclyn’s suggestion of “A Wrinkle in Time.” I loved all the books in that series, which I read when I was around your daughter’s age. It’s interesting that elementary school children have Wednesdays off (at least for now). Sometimes I think my girls go to school for too many hours a week (and have way too much homework for kindergarteners!), but it fits my work schedule better (plus before-care and aftercare).

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      The reason they’re making the school week longer here is because they say the days are too long (which they are), but I really think having the mid-week break helps. Currently, I work four days a week to fit with the girls’ schedule, but they have to go to after-school on the days I work.

      That’s two votes for A Wrinkle in Time! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Claire 'Word by Word'

    I have loved the Wednesdays too, I call it the short weekend before the long weekend. My son is in his last year at primary school so will be one of the last to benefit from the full day off.

    Not sure about contemporary books for young children, but The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is still a great book to read together.

    Reply
  5. Rohan Maitzen

    I’m coming to this post late (too late for the first Mother – Daughter Reading Day!) but I have a daughter too, now 12, and so I think a lot about what books she might like too. She has become a really big fan of the English author Jacqueline Wilson: she read ‘Hetty Feather’ first (when she was around 10) and just loved it, and has read almost every other one of JW’s since, especially the sequels to HF. I love Mrs Basil E Frankweiler, but my daughter didn’t like it much! A ‘classic’ series I recently reread was K M Peyton’s Flambards series, which are set around WWi and are really terrific.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

