It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

This past week I finished Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, which I really liked. Rowell has this way of portraying young love that is just so realistic and lovely. There’s a scene in it in which the main love interests first kiss, and it rang so true to me that it was like I had lived it myself. I also enjoyed the way that book treats the subject of fanfiction, and it honestly made me want to run out and write some, although I’m not sure what I’m a big enough fangirl of to write fanfic about. Maybe Veronica Mars? Buffy?

I’m trying desperately to finish Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon for Wednesday, as I have a book tour stop for it on that day. It’s a good book and I’d love to just sink into it, but unfortunately real life (work) is getting in the way. Bah.

Up next is Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell, a writer whom I read years ago and liked. I’m looking forward to reading her work again, this time as historical fiction.

What are you reading this week?

14 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Jaclyn

    I’m reading Rainbow Rowell too! ATTACHMENTS, for me. And I’m on the library wait list for FANGIRL – hope to get it soon. I’m glad to hear you liked it! That makes me even more excited to crack the spine.

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    I really enjoyed Fangirl! Rowell’s strength is in her characters, and she “gets” the awkwardness of young love. Lots of it rang true for me, too.

    Reply
  3. ocdreader

    Fangirl is on the list, not sure when I will get to it, but I have heard nothing but good things! Awesome. I have enjoyed a few Lisa Jewell books too, looking forward to hearing what you think about it.

    Reply
  4. Brooke

    As a recovering fanfiction writer (addiction free for almost a full decade), I know from personal experience that you have to be stark raving mad about a fandom. It has to be practically all you think about to really get into the nitty-gritty of fan approved fanfiction. You will frighten yourself at times. I need to read this book, lol.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Brooke, I love this about you–and you definitely need to read Fangirl. The main character is a seriously stark raving obsessed fan of a series that bears a striking resemblance to Harry Potter…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

