Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon

dewey1-1024x1024

Oh, this week. It’s been a hard one. I don’t really want to go into the gory details, but it’s safe to say I’ll be glad when it’s behind me.

At least it’s the weekend, and I cleared some work hurdles, and now it’s almost time for Dewey’s. I’ve been really looking forward to my first head cheerleading gig (go Team Tiger!), but it turns out that I’m going to have to leave town unexpectedly and I will miss the part that happens on Sunday for me.

But in the meantime, I’ll be cheering on those of you who are reading during this fabulous 24 hours of books, books and more books. I didn’t officially sign up to read since I’m not a good multi-tasker, although I’m hoping to sneak some reading time in on the sly  (shhh…).

So for all of you who are reading, have a great time, and for those of you who aren’t–you should be! 🙂

UPDATES –

Hour 1: Time for the traditional opening hour questionnaire!

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

I’m reading a bit and cheering a lot from the very chilly French Alps.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I don’t really have a stack per se (unofficial reader, here) but I’m looking forward to dipping into my Alice Munro short story collection in honor of her recent Nobel prize win.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Cheering is hard work, so I’ll need some protein. Peanut butter on toast, maybe?

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m an American expat who has lived abroad for almost ten years, but I’m looking forward to a trip back to the U.S. next year–New Orleans, baby!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I’ve realized from past readathons that I need to focus on one thing and do it well. So, I’ll be mostly cheering (and tweeting) throughout the readathon.

Hope everyone has had a great first hour!

HOURS 2-forever?: Cheering, cheering, and more cheering. This is serious work! May need a snack and a quick reading break. Go #TeamTiger

cheer4readers1

10 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon

  1. sharlenehsmith

    ROAR!
    Hey #TeamTiger Captain. Don’t stress if you are unable to keep us in line. Sometimes a Tiger has to do their own thing. Blessings be with you and your family. Hope you can get a few moments of reading. I plan to do the same 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lynn E. O'Connacht

    I’m sorry to hear the week’s treated you roughly, but I’m glad to hear it sounds like you’re enjoying the readathon. I hope you’re still enjoying the cheerleading and/or reading you’re doing! ❤

    *waves pompoms* Go #TeamTiger!

    Reply
  3. Kanoko (@kanokochi)

    Really sorry to read your week’s been hard, but I hope it’s turned for the better now. I hope you managed to get a few minutes/hours of reading done. Thanks for the wonderful cheering for #TeamTiger, and I hope the read-a-thon’s been fun for you. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

