Classics Club: October Meme

classics_club_buttonThe Classics Club has put up their monthly meme question:

We want you to mingle. Go to our member list and select a fellow classics clubber you’d like to feature on your blog. This can be someone who is active within the Classics Club, someone quiet who inspires with his/her posts, someone new to the club or scarce whom you’d like the club to meet. S/he can be a friend of yours, or someone you’ve never met. Tell readers why you value this club member. Highlight at least one post from his/her blog.

I thought a lot about this month’s meme before posting, because I’m friendly with several classics club members who naturally came to mind when I was thinking about who to feature here. But I decided to go with someone who is an active member, whose posts I read religiously and who never fails to inspire me with the books she chooses to read and promote on her blog. She is someone who I don’t necessarily communicate with on a regular basis, but I definitely value her as a fellow CC member. That person is…

Heavenali! (You liked that dramatic build-up, didn’t you?)

Ali is the person who introduced me to Persephone Books (=LOVE) and she regularly reviews books by lesser-known women writers, a fact that I admire greatly. She joined the Classics Club about a year ago and like me I think she’s added more books to her TBR since joining than she had on her original list; I’m convinced the CC is actually a conspiracy to make your TBR list never-ending. She also reviews a lot of Barbara Pym, who is a writer I am determined to get to know after reading Ali’s reviews.

One review of hers that I recently read and enjoyed was of The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson.  This is the perfect time of year for a creepy ghost story, and I’m definitely adding this one to my TBR. Classic books for life!

 Head over to The Classics Club to see what (and who) other members are talking about…

4 thoughts on “Classics Club: October Meme

  1. Brona

    Great choice. I love visiting heavenali too as we read a lot of the same types of books. I must check out Persephone Books – that’s the third reference (for me) in a week already!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

