Sunday Blogging Reflections

writingAs my two-year blogversary is coming up next month, I’ve been feeling reflective about why I keep this blog and what purpose it serves in my life. As some of you may know, I’ve been blogging a lot longer than two years (almost ten, actually, which is kind of crazy). I originally started a book blog for reasons that I’ve talked about here, and while those reasons still hold true, I’ve realized some other things that are also true:

  1. Keeping up a regular blog takes a lot of time and energy. When I was writing a personal blog, I only had myself and my family and friends to answer to. With book blogging I’m part of a community, which is wonderful, but to really be part of it properly takes even more time and energy. I don’t think there’s much point in doing things half-assed.
  2. I have a hard time saying ‘no’ to people, and if I let other people dictate what I read/blog about by accepting review requests, I will have little time and energy left over for what I choose to read/blog about.  I’ve gotten better about this over the past year, but I’m still spending a lot of time reading for other people.
  3. While I think that writing daily is a really good exercise for me, the time that I actually spend writing is far superseded by the time I spend planning and organizing and networking, which is maybe not so good for me right now. I need to just be writing.
  4. I have almost 2,000 books on my TBR just for my e-book reader. This doesn’t count all the physical books on my shelves that I haven’t read.

So, what does this mean for me? I’m not completely sure yet, except to say that something’s gotta give. I’ve seen a lot of people drop out of blogging recently, and I can understand why they might decide to do that. After all, this is something that we choose to do–no one is making us, and most of us get very little in the way of rewards for it apart from the fun of being part of the community and maybe a few more books to read. There’s definitely a satisfaction in sharing a new book or author you’ve discovered or in being part of a great reading experience, but lately I’ve found that I’m only talking and writing about the same books as everyone else, and I wonder if there’s any point to that. What do I really have to add that is meaningful? I’m not interested in being a marketing tool for someone’s latest book–that’s not why I do this–and yet more and more I feel like that’s my only real value as a blogger.

So we’ll see. I’m going to turn off comments to this post because I don’t particularly want feedback about any of this. I just needed to get it off my chest.

