It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?  is a weekly meme hosted by The Book Journey, and it’s a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well.

I have a few days until my Middlemarch readalong officially starts, so I’m trying to fit in a couple of books that are just for fun this week. I recently finished The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick, which I liked. I had seen the film that is based on the book when it came out in the theater, but I have to say that I preferred the book (no big surprise). Although the movie is good, the book gives you a better understanding of the characters’ motivation and a more realistic resolution. My only gripe with the book would be that the main character, Pat, is sometimes portrayed as being a bit too childlike to be believable.

I’m now deep into the third book in Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent series of crime novels, which are set in Atlanta and feature an unusual detective-hero. I have really enjoyed getting into these books as they’re a nice change of pace from my usual reads and are very well-written, with strong plotting and enough twists and turns to keep the reader guessing. The main character, Will,  is complicated and endearing, and I’m curious to know how he will develop over the course of the series. If I have time, I’ll probably sneak in another one of these before December.

And then, it’s Middlemarch all the way! I have a feeling this chunkster will keep me busy through the holidays, but I’m looking forward to it.

What are you reading this week?

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Lindsey

    I had heard that the book and movie versions of Silver Linings Playbook were very different. I think I’m going to let the movie fade a bit more before I pick up the book!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      They’re very similar at the beginning but have very different endings. Where the movie ends is only about halfway through the book (if that makes sense).

      Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    I’m re-reading old favorites this week (Persuasion, for example) as I recuperate from having relatives in town over the weekend and prepare for Thanksgiving. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Middlemarch!

    Reply
  3. JaneGS

    Middlemarch is one of my all-time favorite books–I’m due to read it for maybe the 5th time soon, and really looking forward to it. So many wonderful characters and story threads.

    My son loved Silver Linings Playbook–I don’t have a copy yet, but need to rectify that so I can read it when the mood strikes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

