Weekend Cooking: An Expat Thanksgiving

For those of you in the U.S. who celebrated Thanksgiving this past Thursday, I hope you had a great holiday. Because here in France it’s not an official holiday, we had to wait until today to celebrate with some fellow expat friends, and I’m still in something of a turkey coma. We ate ALL DAY LONG. But it was good, and I had the unexpected pleasure of meeting a couple of other women who have roots in the Southern U.S., so we had fun chatting about common experiences and laying on our thick Southern accents for the amusement of the rest of the guests. Good times.

I have several recipes that I traditionally make for Thanksgiving, generally sides as that’s what I always get assigned to bring (I’m not sure why, but over the years we’ve fallen into certain roles in the group, and mine is veggie girl). This year I was very short on cooking time because we had another event to attend this morning, so I basically had to prepare everything either last night or at the last minute. One of the dishes I made was a new recipe that didn’t require much cooking, and the result seemed to be a hit, so I’ve decided to share it with you. It’s really easy and has a very mild flavor, with just enough crunchiness.

brussel-sproutsCrunchy Sweet Brussels Sprouts Salad
Recipe originally from The Food Network

Ingredients
1 pound Brussels sprouts
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions
Shred the Brussels sprouts by removing the core and thinly slicing (I basically just chopped off the bottom part of each sprout, as “removing the core” is easier said than done). Warm the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the Brussels sprouts, nutmeg, and salt and pepper, to taste. Cook, stirring, until the Brussels sprouts are bright and slightly wilted, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the walnuts and the cranberries and toss to combine. Turn out into a serving bowl and serve warm.

I’d never had Brussels sprouts like this before, but they were delicious. I have a few sprouts leftover that I didn’t cook, and I think I’m going to do the same thing with them tomorrow except I’m going to throw in a little bacon.

Did you celebrate Thanksgiving this past week? Try any new recipes that are worth sharing?

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

7 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: An Expat Thanksgiving

  1. Beth F

    That Brussels sprout recipe sounds awesome. I love to shred them and quickly saute like that — but the addition of the cranberries sounds wonderful. I made the old standbys this year, no new recipes.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The November Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  3. Louise

    This looks great. I’ve come to enjoy brussel sprouts in the past year or two, at last overcoming a childhood aversion. My husband and son won’t eat them generally, this might be a way to get them interested.

    Reply
  4. A.M.B.

    It’s nice that you were able to celebrate Thanksgiving with fellow expats in France. I’ve never had Brussels sprouts at Thanksgiving, but it sounds like a great dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

