Too Fond in 2014

11622235864_f30629f052New year, new post!

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, mainly because the method of small changes tends to work best for me when I’m trying to adopt a new habit or modify an old one. But I do have some goals that I’m planning to work towards in the new year in regards to my reading and blogging habits.

1. Choose what I want to read, when I want to read it. I’ve talked about this a bit before, but I’ve slowed waaay down on accepting books for review. I very rarely visit NetGalley and Edelweiss anymore and only agree to do book tours when it’s something that I really want to read.

2. Set manageable reading goals. I’ve only signed up for one challenge in 2014, and I’ll continue working towards my longer-term Classics Club goal. I almost managed to meet my overall goal of reading 75 books in 2013 (I read 73), but I’m going to bring that number down to 70 for this year.

3. Post once a week. Yep, that’s it. I may end up posting more often, but that will only be if I want to. And I may not always post about books–I might decide to pull some of my other interests into the blog this year.

4. Remember that I’m doing this for fun. I started this blog for fun, to make reading and writing a priority in my easily overbooked free time, and that’s how I mean to go on.

I’m hoping that 2014 is going to be a time of cutting back and focusing on what’s really important and meaningful to me. I’m planning to allow more time for the unexpected, both in life and in my reading choices, and I’m going to try to not commit myself to things that don’t bring me real satisfaction or growth.

Happy New Year to all of you out there in blogland–may 2014 be your best one yet.

19 thoughts on “Too Fond in 2014

  1. Claire 'Word by Word'

    Very sound reading resolutions, I’m totally for that freedom to choose and as such I shy away from challenges, apart from, my Goodreads one book a week which I rounded up to 60 this year and managed to read 67, which is about all I can manage and want to manage to keep the joy in reading.

    I do like to visit blogs and read reviews, in the same way that others like window shopping, it doesn’t always mean I want to purchase the product, but there is much enjoyment to be had in appreciating and knowing a little about the things/books we don’t necessarily indulge.

    I look forward to your posts in 2014, bonne continuation!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Sounds like we read at about the same pace, Claire. I know what you mean about “window shopping”, too, as I love finding new books to add to my TBR pile, even if it takes me ages to get around to reading them.

      Happy 2014 to you!

      Reply
  2. Brooke

    My goals are super in-line with yours. More reading for pleasure and slow down!! After crashing and burning back in November, I’m looking forward to learning how to enjoy reading again. No more 100 book years.

    Reply
  3. Lu

    I’ve been calling 2014 the year of getting it right. There are a lot of things I have tried to do over the years, long lists of lots of goals, but this year I got to the core of what I was trying to accomplish with all those goals and made very simple resolutions like these. I’m looking forward to 2014 and finally getting it right! Like you, I’d really just like to blog once a week. That’s it. Maybe more, but hopefully I won’t skip any weeks this year.

    Reply
  4. Trish

    Love these little goals Beth! Especially the read what you want, when you want…though it does make picking that next book a little tough! 😉 Happy New Year!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Yes, but at least it gives me the freedom to change my mind if something isn’t working for me. I think that’s one of my biggest issues–I feel like I need to stick with a book to the end even when I’m not enjoying it.

      Reply
  5. Ti

    Even with the ARCs I accept, I only accept the ones I really want to read anyway and this past year, if they didn’t work for me, I felt no guilt about about it AND told the publisher so. My biggest problem of late if picking my next read. I seem to have a little hiccup in the process once I finish a book.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I know what you mean. I try to give myself one ‘free choice’ read in between books for review so that I can keep from feeling bogged down by outside commitments.

      Reply
  6. A.M.B.

    Happy New Year, Beth! Good luck with your goals!

    I have similar goals for the year. Last year, I found it took me twice as long to go from 100 to 200 posts as it did to go from 1 to 100. I just don’t have the time for blogging (or, sadly, even for reading lately!), and I’m just not as interested in blogging either. Maybe these feelings will change when the rest of my life calms down a bit–but I don’t know when that will happen! I did agree to do a read-along this month (I was hoping it would help me end my reading slump), but after that, I’m not going to sign myself up for much.

    Reply
  7. Geoff W

    Well stated goals! I feel like I should copy and paste them as they meet most of what my plans are for the year. Have a healthy, happy and relaxing 2014!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

