January Reads

In the past, I’ve tried to write weekly posts on what I’m reading, but now I have decided to change to one ‘preview’ post of the books I’ll be spending time with this month. I think this will work better for me as I often don’t finish books within a week.

I have a few books to read for review this month and I’ll be hosting a couple of book tour stops.  I’m also participating in Brooke’s Southern Literature Month, and I’ve decided to tie this in with my Classics Club and TBR reading for this month for Maximum Reading Efficiency! Here’s what I’ve got lined up for January:

1. The Splendour Falls by Susanna Kearsley – This is a book from Kearsley’s backlist that is being re-released this month. I’ve read one Kearsley book previously and liked it, so I’m looking forward to digging into this historical mystery.

2. Under the Jeweled Sky by Alison McQueen – Another work of historical fiction, this time set in India in the 1950’s.

3. Our Love Could LIght the World by Anne Leigh Parrish – This is a self-published book of short stories that has gotten good reviews, centered on a dysfunctional family in upstate New York.

4. The Gods of Heavenly Punishment by Jennifer Cody Epstein – More historical fiction, this is a novel set in Japan during WWII. I’ve heard really good things about it.

5. Nowhere Else on Earth by Josephine Humphries. This book counts for my Southern Lit month reading as well as the TBR Challenge. It’s by one of my favorite authors and has been on my shelf for far too long. It’s a (guess what?) historical fiction novel set in North Carolina in the 1800’s.

6. Classics Club reading to be determined: I’m still working on Wilkie Collins’ The Frozen Deep and The Moonstone, and I will probably read some classic Southern Lit as well if I have time–I’ve got Carson McCuller’s The Heart is a Lonely Hunter on my list and I recently bought a collection of Eudora Welty short stories. There’s a Classics Club readathon coming up this weekend, so I hope to get some good reading done then.

What are you reading this month?

7 thoughts on “January Reads

  1. Becca

    I recently read Under the Jeweled Sky and did an interview with the author for All Things Girl magazine (which will run on January 27). I thoroughly enjoyed the story and was very emotionally invested with the characters – I hope you like it as much as I did!

    Reply
  2. Belle Wong

    Nice list of books. I like your idea of doing a monthly preview post of books you’re reading. Right now I’m on a bit of a reading streak, which is nice. It’s been mostly mysteries for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

