The Classics Club Readathon

ccreadathon2Today I’m participating in the 2nd annual Classics Club readathon. I joined in the first one and really enjoyed it, so I’m looking forward to once again spending the day with some great classic literature. This readathon comes at just the right time of the year for me, when it’s cold outside and I’m still lazy from the holidays and want nothing more than to settle down with a good book. Here’s what I’ve got lined up for today:

The Frozen Deep by Wilkie Collins – I should be able to finish this one today, as I’ve already started it for Wilkie in Winter and it’s quite short. Update: FINISHED!

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins – I started this one for a readalong a few months back and the timing just wasn’t right. I’m hoping to make some progress on it today. Update: 28% done 

Collected Stories by Eudora Welty – Though I’m from the South and love its literary tradition, I will admit to having some gaping holes in my Southern reading pedigree. Welty is one of those which I hope to fill. Update: 5% done

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers – This one is on my Classics Club list and represents yet another famous Southern writer whose work I have never read. For shame!

So it’s going to be a 50-50 split between Victorian thrills and Southern drama. Should make for a great readathon!

Are you joining in the readathon today? If so, what are you planning to read?

2 thoughts on “The Classics Club Readathon

  1. StefanieH

    I remember seeing this readalong last year and thinking it was a great idea, but I had something on that day. Today, I don’t really have any plans, but I’ve had a horrendous headache for a few days so realistically it’s not going to happen.
    I picked up the Heart is a Lonely Hunter when I was 16 after my English teacher recommended it. I don’t remember a great deal of the specifics but I remember that I enjoyed it so much I wrote my end of year essay on it.
    I read somewhere recently that they’re making a McCullers biopic called Lonely Hunter which will no doubt be really interesting.
    Good luck today!

    Reply
  2. Cassandra

    Oh, I just finished The Frozen Deep and enjoyed it a lot!
    Hope you like it too! I’m reading The Great Gatsby and Peter Pan for the moment, would like to finish them both and then we’ll see.
    Congratulations for your lovely blog and happy reading 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

