2014 Africa Reading Challenge

africa_map-2Okay, so I said that I was only going to do one challenge this year. But I also have a personal goal to read more African literature, and when I saw that Kinna was going to host the Africa Reading Challenge again this year I knew I had to join in. The challenge is very low-key in that there is only one level of participation–to read 5 works of African literature sometime during the year, either fiction or non-fiction. At least 3 of those must be by African writers.

I already have a few books on my shelf all ready to go for this challenge, and I have ideas of others I’d like to read. My tentative list at the moment includes:

  1. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
  2. What is the What by Dave Eggers (Sudan)
  3. Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen (Kenya)
  4. A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah (Sierra Leone)
  5. We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)
  6. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese (Ethiopia)

A big thank you to Kinna for deciding to host this challenge again, and I look forward to reading African literature with you in 2014!

2 thoughts on “2014 Africa Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up and March Reads | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

