Booking Through Thursday: Equality

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

All other things (writing quality, story, etc) being the same, which would you rather read?

1. Something written by a man or a woman?

2. Something with a male or female protagonist?

3. Something funny or something tragic?

4. Something short or something long with many parts?

5. Something simple or something layered?

I like to think that I am very open-minded and egalitarian when choosing what I read, but like anyone I tend to have preferences. For example, I know that I read a lot more books by female authors and more books with female protagonists. I don’t think I do this consciously, but I suppose I am more drawn to the type of stories that women write, and women seem to write about female protagonists more than males ones. Having said, that, some of my favorite writers are male (Patrick Ness, David Levithan, Alexander McCall Smith) so I’m not completely biased.

In terms of story content and structure, I prefer funny to tragic and short to long, although I don’t mind a good weepy chunkster. I like layered stories as long as they aren’t needlessly complicated, but simple can be good, too. See? Very egalitarian!

Do you have a preference for any of the above when it comes to your reading?

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Equality

  1. Gigi Ann

    Like you, I am also a egalitarian. (That was a new word for me, I had to look up the meaning) I tend to stay with books that are not over 300-350 pages. Layered, I don’t think so.

    Reply
  2. StefanieH

    I’m also a funny over tragic, short over long kind of reader. In saying that though, Jane Eyre is up near the top of my favourites and I’d say that’s fairly long, and pretty tragic in my opinion.

    Reply
  3. Geoff W

    Another interesting one is a young or an old narrator. Some of the best novels I’ve ever read, like Room, Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha and At Swim Two Boys are narrated by children/young adults. And there are great novels with flashback narration from older characters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

