February Reads

februaryHappy February, all! This posting my to-read list once a month worked well for me in January, so I’m going to continue the tradition.

Here’s what I’ve got lined up for February:

1. Under the Jeweled Sky by Alison McQueen – Another work of historical fiction, this time set in India in the 1950’s. I meant to read this one last month but it didn’t happen, so I’m going to try again in February.

2. Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen – The latest from a writer who mixes elements of light magical realism with contemporary Southern fiction. This would have been a good choice for Southern Literature month in January, but instead I’m reading it now.

3. The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness – I don’t know why I haven’t read this one yet, considering my love for Patrick Ness. I haven’t heard a lot about it, but the title reminds me of The Decembrists’ album.

4. My Life in Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead – Part of the reason I hosted my Middlemarch readalong back in December was in anticipation of reading this book. I read this article by Meg Wolitzer on npr a few days ago, and I’m looking forward to reading Mead’s book even more now.

5. Paris Letters by Janice Macleod – I have a hard time resisting people’s stories of how they moved to France and fell in love (even though in my own story, things didn’t exactly happen in that order).

6. Something from my TBR Challenge Pile – TBD

February is time for the Month of Letters Challenge, one of my favorite events in the year. This will be my third year taking part in the challenge, in which the goal is to write and send as many “real” letters as you can. I’m doing this is conjunction with The Estella Society’s Start 2014 Write! letter exchange, so some of you out there in blogland may be receiving a letter from me this month (wink, wink).

I’m looking forward to spending the last full month of winter with some great books and plenty of time writing. And because I’ll be traveling to the U.S. in March, I’ll also be spending time planning my trip–particularly what I want to bring to read, what I want to read while I’m there, and what books I might splurge on to bring back with me!

What are you reading this month? Do you have any other exciting plans for February?

9 thoughts on “February Reads

  1. Peggy@Peggy Ann's Post

    Nice idea lining up what you’ll read for the month. I might try that! Get them out and sit them in a nice little stack on the bookshelf and tic them off one by one! I signed up for the Month of Letters too. This is my first time. Looking forward to it!

    Reply
  2. nerdybookgirl

    Our collection development librarian promised me he would order My Life in Middlemarch and I am so excited! Thank you so much for hosting the Middlemarch readalong. I finished last week and it was so perfect. It is now one of my top five classic novels. I adore every page.

    Reply
  3. Brooke

    I’m reading Sarah Addison Allen’s The Girl Who Chased the Moon this month. It will be my first Allen. So many seem to enjoy her novels. Have a fantastic February, Beth!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

