The Classics Club Spin – 3rd Time’s a Charm?

classics_club_buttonThe Classics Club has come up with a fun way to get us motivated and reading our list books–the Classics Spin! This will be my second third attempt at reading a spin book, and hopefully I’ll be more successful this time around.

The rules are:

 

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List (Disclaimer: I’m kind of “adjusting” my list as I go, so to be fair a lot of these aren’t on the original list).
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by April 2nd, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

My Spin List for the Classics Club  –

  1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
  2. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
  3. Agnes Gray by Anne Brontë
  4. Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
  5. The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
  6. My Antonia by Willa Cather
  7. The Awakening by Kate Chopin
  8. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier
  9. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
  10. The Good Earth by Pearl Buck
  11. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  12. The Sound of the Mountain by Yasunari Kawabata (the “dare” book!)
  13. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  14. Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney
  15. The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane
  16. The Group by Mary McCarthy
  17. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  18. Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen
  19. No Longer at Ease by Chinua Achebe
  20. Reader’s Choice! – If I get this one, I’ll read the first classic book that someone suggests. Just to keep me on my toes. 🙂
28 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin – 3rd Time’s a Charm?

    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’ve been wanting to read more Achebe for years–would love to get that one for my “spin” number. So many people that I know really love Rebecca, so hopefully I can read that one soon, too.

      Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thank you! I’ve had One Hundred Years of Solitude on my shelf for years but never seem to find the right time to read it. Maybe I’ll get the chance now.

      Reply
  1. Cleo @ Classical Carousel

    My Antonia, The Good Earth and Out of Africa are the ones that stand out for me. I saw that Moonlight Reader was doing a Bronte Project on her blog and Lost Generation has a list full of Brontes too, so they are very popular this year. Happy Spin reading!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I read Villette last year and it reminded me how much I love Charlotte Brontë’s writing, and that I need to read the other Brontës, too! I gave myself a one in four chance, anyway! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jason

    One Hundred Years of Solitude and The Awakening are both on my list too. My Antonia was meh but I do want to read more by Cather. Good luck!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks! I would be happy to get The Awakening because I’m getting ready to take a trip to New Orleans next month and Chopin was a local author.

      Reply
  3. Bree

    I loved The Awakening. Kate Chopin is one of my favorite classics authors. One Hundred Years is sitting on my shelf too. I like his short stories of magical realism, why can’t I willingly pick up one of his novels? hmmmm….

    good luck on your *cough cough* third attempt. lol Your introduction cracks me up. Thanks for keeping it real! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Brona

    I’ve just started the dare book! It’s not an easy read, but thankfully a slight book, so you make quick(ish) progress.
    Good luck 🙂

    Reply
  5. Mabel

    Your #18 is lovely! I feel like you’ve probably already read the book I’d dare you to read for #20. Which is my favorite book ever. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Yes, I think I can guess what that might be! 🙂 As I haven’t read it in years, though, I would definitely be up for a re-read. Especially as I’m getting ready to trip back home to the South next month–it would be good preparation. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Plethora

    Lots of Bronte is on various spin list. I did read The Tenant of Wildfell Hall lasy year and enjoyed it.

    Can hardly wait to see what book will be spun my way.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      You are officially my new favorite person–thank you! I was so worried someone was going to throw Ulysses or War and Peace at me just for fun. I Capture the Castle it is! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Too Fond Post author

    Mabel, I’m going to try to read yours, too–seems like an ideal time for a re-read provided I can get my hands on an e-book version. I don’t see myself toting that one around in my suitcase. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Five Fun Facts about Dodie Smith | Too Fond

  9. Pingback: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

