February Wrap-Up and March Reads

Afternoon sky during a walk with my daughters in February.

I’m a bit behind as it has been a crazy week, work-wise, and I’m trying to get ready to leave for the U.S. this coming week. Busy, busy! Anyway, during the month of February I read five books:

The best of the bunch was probably The Crane Wife, although I really enjoyed Lost Lake as well. I was not too impressed by Mad About the Boy, which is a shame considering how much I liked the previous Bridget Jones novels. This one just kind of made me roll my eyes.

Here’s what I’ve got lined up for March:

  1. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I’ve been planning to read this one for a while now, and I just found out that Adichie will be speaking in Decatur on the evening I arrive in town.  Of course, I’m not going to let a little thing like jet lag get in my way, and I’d like to have read this one (if not her latest one, Americanah) before hearing her talk. This book also counts towards the Africa Reading Challenge.
  2. The Awakening by Kate Chopin – Because I’ll also be visiting New Orleans, I decided it would be the perfect time to read this one from my Classics Club list. Chopin was a local Louisiana author and this is an early feminist work, which means it would count towards the Feminist Literature in March event, too.  Double win!
  3. The Frangipani Hotel by Violet Kupersmith – I’ll be hosting a book tour stop for this collection of short stories in late March. Based on traditional Vietnamese folk tales, these contemporary stories deal with the aftermath of the Vietnam War. I’m really looking forward to this one.
  4. And Then There Were Nuns: Adventures in a Cloistered Life by Jane Christmas – I’m a bit behind on my review books, but if I manage to catch up I’ll read this one during March as well. It’s the non-fiction account of a woman who tries her hand at being a nun. I’m not sure whether it’s meant to be a laugh or if she actually has any real religious convictions, but the premise was enough to make me want to read it.

I’ll certainly be reading more than these four books, but because I’ll be traveling during most of the month, I want to leave myself plenty of time to read things that I choose on the spot.

What are you reading this month? Do you have any other exciting plans for March?

28 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up and March Reads

  1. heavenali

    I keep hearing good things about The Crane wife. I read Half of a yellow sun some years ago it is powerful and haunting and I learned a lot about Biafra

    Reply
  2. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    I just finished Lost Lake last night. AND I have The Frangipani Hotel coming up very soon as well. Oh, and I recently won a copy of The Crane Wife that I’m eager to get to. We have a lot of overlap lately. 😀

    Looks like you had a great February! Here’s to an amazing March!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, Letizia! I know I’m going to be tempted by having access to an English library, so I need to give myself some space in the reading schedule to indulge. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Trish

    I hope you have a really wonderful trip home! I’ve never been to New Orleans (or Georgia!! except ATL airport) but I’d love to visit both one of these days. Enjoy Half of a Yellow Sun. It’s a really beautifully written book. I’ve been meaning to get back to her works! What a treat to see her speak.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, Trish. I went to New Orléans years ago (when I was 12) but haven’t been back since, so I’m looking forward to it. My conference ends at 4:30 everyday, so I’m thinking I’ll be able to sneak in some tourist time, too.

      Reply
  4. Nish

    The Awakening is awesome, and I have Americanah lined up for Africa reading challenge too. Looking forward to reading it…not in March though. That is devoted to Stephen King and finishing up The Casual Vacancy.

    Reply
  5. Rhiannon

    You’re coming to Georgia? Where? When? are you attending any bookish events? I live in ATL suburbs & always like meeting my book blogging buddies if you might be interested.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Hi Rhiannon! I arrive on Thursday and I’ll be in town for about a week, but so far the only book-ish thing I have planned is the Adichie talk on Thursday night. I’m hoping to run into a few blogging friends while I’m there, though–would love to see you. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Geoff W

    Good luck with The Awakening, we had to read it in high school and I did not enjoy it. I’m sure I would appreciate it much more now! I’ve also heard similar responses to the new Bridget Jones novel, I’ll get to it at some point but I’m not moving it forward on my list that’s for sure.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Well, we’ll see how it goes. The Awakening has been on my shelf since college, so I feel like I need to give it a shot. And the timing is right. Maybe the New Orléans setting will inspire me as I read. 🙂

      And yeah, no hurry on the new BJ. Unfortunately.

      Reply
  7. Brooke

    Beth, how did I not know this???? That Chimamanda Adichie is speaking in Decatur? I am absolutely going. Gotta send word to my book club ladies about this as well. Hope to see you there!!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I just found out because I happened to check the Dekalb County Library website. Too cool that it’s happening while I’m there, even if it is the night I arrive. I’ll keep an eye out for you–and I’ll be the one with the red eyes. 🙂

      Reply
  8. didibooksenglish

    Half of a Yellow Sun and The Awakening are both really excellent choices! Enjoy! Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is quickly becoming one of my favourite writers. I’m finishing up americanah , which is a must read. 😀 I can’t pronounce on the others. Happy reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

