March Wrap-Up and April Reads

jackson-squareMarch was a whirlwind, with my trip to the U.S. taking up most of the month. I read quite a bit but not exactly as I had planned, and my regular reading habits got a bit off-track. I was able to attend a great talk given by Chimamanda Adichie in Atlanta, and I marveled over the difficulty I had finding bookstores in the U.S.–crazy! Luckily my trusty favorite used book store was still there, and I scored some books for my daughters as well as one for myself.

During the month of March I read six books:

I LOVED both I Capture the Castle and Where’d You Go Bernadette, but there wasn’t much else to get excited about in there. I’ve been in a bit of a reading funk since finishing Bernadette and I really need something good to get me over it. Any suggestions?

Here’s what I’ve got lined up for April:

  1. The Quick by Lauren Owen – I’m looking forward to digging into this one, a sprawling debut novel set in Victorian London.
  2. And the Dark Sacred Night by Julia Glass – This upcoming release picks up on characters from Glass’ first novel, Three Junes, which is one of my all-time favorites.
  3. When the Cypress Whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon – This novel centers around the life of the daughter of Greek immigrants and her relationship to her homeland.
  4. The Descendants by Kaui Hart Hemmings – I was lucky enough to win this one in a giveaway recently, and I’m hoping to read it before I tackle Hemmings’ latest novel for review next month.

I’m participating in Carl’s Once Upon a Time reading event between now and June, and I will probably do some reading for that this month. There is also a Dewey’s coming up on the weekend of April 26th, so mark your calendars!

What are you reading this month? Do you have any other exciting plans for April?

4 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up and April Reads

  1. Letizia

    Isn’t it sad how few bookstores there are in the U.S now? Sigh. You have a good list of books there. I read Semple’s but not the others. I just finished Dylan Thomas’ ‘Portrait of an Artist as a Young Artist’ which I liked a lot (autobiographical essays if you like that kind of thing) and just started The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

    Reply
  2. Trish

    I’m still in shock that today is April 1st. I just can’t believe that March is already behind us! I’m glad you had a good trip–I always read much less than I think I will when I’m on trips.

    Hope you enjoy The Descendants. I keep meaning to watch the movie and I almost bought the book a few days ago (maybe it was a Kindle deal?) but I passed it up as I’m starting to feel guilt/pressure for how many books I have unread! This month I’ll finally be reading Tell the Wolves I’m Home for book club and finishing up East of Eden. Happy April!

    Reply
  3. nerdybookgirl

    I’m so glad you liked I Capture the Castle. I love that book so much. You were in Atlanta? I live in north GA about an hour away from Atlanta. Sadly book stores are scarce. It really makes me sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

