I Love London

london-loveDid I mention that we’re getting ready to take a trip to London in a couple of weeks? We have a cousin who is getting married to an English girl, so we’re taking this lovely opportunity to spend a few days in one of my favorite cities in the world. My husband has actually never been (a bit shocking considering he grew up just across the pond), and neither have my two daughters. So I’m busily trying to create an itinerary that will appeal to everyone while also trying to sneak in some of my personal favorite things to do.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

1. Catching a production of Much Ado About Nothing at the Globe Theatre. Seeing Shakespeare in this (albeit recreated) original setting has been on my literary to-do list for a while now.

2. Riding a double-decker bus. My girls really want to ride one of the big red buses, so I’ve found one that I think will take us past most of the touristy highlights.

3. Visiting the British Library. Last time I was in London I attended a conference that was held here, and it is just such a cool place. I’m especially looking forward to sharing it with my book-loving eldest daughter.

4. Having the Harry Potter experience. That same daughter is a big HP fan, so we’re planning to stop by platform 9 3/4 as well as do the Warner Bros. studio tour and catch some of the sights seen in the films.

5. Seeing the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace. My youngest daughter really wants to do this, and I’ve actually never seen it myself. There is also a guards’ museum at the palace that is supposed to be a fun stop for kids.

6. Strolling along the South Bank of the Thames. I was talking to an English friend recently who told me they’ve really renovated this area and it’s great for pedestrians. The girls are trying to talk me into riding on the London Eye, too, but the jury is still out on that one. For anyone who’s done it–is it worth the money?

7. Visiting the Tower of London. I think this will be a kid-friendly stop, and I haven’t done the proper tour myself in years. Plus we’ll have a nice view of Tower Bridge.

8. Paying my respects to some the greats at Westminster Abbey. I may end up doing this one on my own if the rest of the family isn’t interested, but I love strolling through the church and seeing the graves and memorials for the many writers who are honored there.

9. Eating, eating and more eating. One of my favorite things about London is the food, as there is such a great variety of ethnic food (something a bit lacking in France). I especially want to have a proper curry while I’m there. Oh, and the English food, too! Tea with scones, fish and chips, a real English breakfast…I could go on and on.

10. Shopping for books. You didn’t think I would forget this one, did you? Granted, we’re going to be a bit limited on space as we’re sharing one suitcase between the four of us, but I’m sure I can manage to squeeze in one or two. I’d love to have a chance to visit Persephone Books, in particular.

What do you think–am I leaving out any must-do things? There’s only so much we’ll have time for in three days, but I intend to make the most of our time there.

7 thoughts on “I Love London

  1. Kathy

    Because your hubby loves a good flea market maybe you could hit the Portobello Road Market, which is in the famous Notting Hill neighborhood.

    Reply
  2. JaneGS

    I love London too–3 days isn’t much, but on our last trip we visited the Imperial War Museum (really great exhibit on the blitz during WWII), and Churchill’s War Rooms (fascinating).

    We stayed on the south bank in a wonderful, spacious hotel and really loved riding the bus across the Thames a couple of times a day.

    Enjoy!

    Reply
  3. Trish

    How awesome!! You’ll need to write up a post about traveling with kiddos with some pointers.
    I went to London with my mom and sisters about 15 years ago. We did many of the things on your list but I’d love to go back again and especially add Persephone and the Globe to my list. I hope you have a wonderful trip. Please share pictures!

    Reply
  4. Bree @The Things We Read

    Awesome! I love London too. One day I will get back there. Your list sounds amazing. I second Trish and say Post Pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

