The Classics Club Spin #6 (or 4, if you’re me)

classics_club_buttonThe Classics Club has come up with a fun way to get us motivated and reading our list books–the Classics Spin! This will be my fourth time participating, and since I had such a great spin last time I’m feeling confident that I can do it again.

To add to the fun, I’ve got five choices that fit in with the Classics Club Post-Colonial/World Literature event for the month of May.

The rules are:

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List (Disclaimer: I’m kind of “adjusting” my list as I go, so to be fair a lot of these aren’t on the original list).
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by July 7th, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

So here we go with my spin list for this time around:

Five I’m Hesitant to Read

1.  Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
2.  The Last of the Mohicans by James Fennimore Cooper
3.  Vanity Fair by William Thackery
4.  Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
5.  Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

Five I Can’t Wait to Read

6.  The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
7.  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
8.  Narrative in the Life of Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass
9.  The Color Purple by Alice Walker
10. The Complete Stories of Truman Capote

Five I’m Neutral About

11.  Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton
12.  My Antonia by Willa Cather
13.  The Sound of the Mountain by Yasunari Kawabata
14.  A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
15.  The Once and Future King by T. H. White

Five Post-colonial/World Lit Classics

16.  Anthills of the Savannah by Chinua Achebe
17.  Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
18.  Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
19.  Three Strong Women by Marie NDiaye
20.  A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

Good luck to everyone participating!

15 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin #6 (or 4, if you’re me)

  1. A.M.B.

    I was hesitant to re-read Wuthering Heights, which I did as part of a read-along back in January. I ended up really liking it.

    Reply
  2. lindylit

    Some interesting choice. I have Far From the Madding Crowd on my list too – it will be a reread – but I don’t think we have it as the same number, that would be spooky.

    Reply
  3. Candiss

    I think I read Wuthering Heights at too young an age. It horrified me at 12 or so. I should probably reread it to “get” more of the nuance.

    I really enjoyed Wide Sargasso Sea, but I tend to bet a fan of parallel novels. If I had it to do over, I’d pair it with a reread of Jane Eyre.

    Best of luck with your spin pick!

    Reply
  4. Cleo @ Classical Carousel

    You have a great list going! My Antonia was just wonderful and Vanity Fair is excellent, if long. I read Wuthering Heights along with AMB and probably liked it a little less than she did. I hope you have a great spin! 🙂

    Reply
  5. kelly

    Last of the Mohicans….if that’s the book you end up getting, then i say good luck. I hope you end up enjoying it more than I did! I thought I’d love it and ended up not really liking it at all. But-it is very entertaining at times!

    Reply
  6. Brona

    If no. 12 spins up we will read My Antonia together.
    It sounds promising, although I know little about this book.

    Good luck – I will post my list in the next day or 2 🙂

    Reply
  7. BookerTalk

    Wide Sargossa Sea took me a while to get into it because the style was so different but it was well worth reading. Yiu are in for a great if you get The Colour Purple

    Reply
  8. Pingback: May Wrap-Up and June Reads | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

