Currently…

currently

Sorry for the radio silence around here, but there are BIG things in the works in both my professional and personal life that seem to be sucking away all my writing time. The biggest of which is that we are preparing to move back to the U.S. for a couple of years. This decision has been on the table for a while now but was only officially made a few days ago, and now we’re in the process of setting it in motion. Busy times ahead.

But if I can take a few minutes to relax and breathe, here’s what else I’m doing currently…

Loving: Long May weekends, time spent planning and dreaming as a family, my Mother’s Day love from my girls (we celebrated it yesterday in France).

Thinking about: How I need to take one thing at a time so as not to get overwhelmed by all there is to do. First up–cleaning out and organizing the apartment so we can get it on the market.

Anticipating: The upcoming long weekend which we’ll spend in the mountains, attending a friend’s wedding and enjoying some hiking and other outdoors fun.

Watching: Parenthood. After finishing up my re-watch of Gilmore Girls, I discovered this more recent show with Lauren Graham, and I’m really enjoying it (I’m up to the third season now.)

Listening to: Labor Day by Joyce Maynard on audiobook. Thanks to those of you who gave me some suggestions per my recent request, I’ve got other stuff on the burner for when I finish this one. And apparently the book has just been made into a movie?

Eating: The first ‘summery’ foods of the season–tomatoes and zucchini, salads and gazpacho.

Wishing: That I could slow time down and really enjoy these last few months before we leave without all the attendant effort of preparing for the move. I am determined to stay as zen as possible.

What are you up to today?

16 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Tamara

    Hey – take care of yourself in the midst of these changes. I love this post. I also love watching Gilmore Girls when I need a good fix of girly comfort.

    Reply
  2. Geoff W

    I’ve been thinking about watching Gilmore Girls, I’ve only ever seen a few and thought it could be worth watching in its entirety! Also that’s exciting, but I’m sure incredibly stress/anxiety inducing. Good luck with the move and what not!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      It’s a great show, Geoff–total comfort tv for me and Lauren Graham is JUST. AWESOME. Thanks for the encouragement on the move. I know it will all work out but it’s definitely a daunting prospect.

      Reply
  3. Trish

    What?!?!?! Wow–I’m sure that you are just going mentally and physically at 90 miles an hour. I hope everything goes very smoothly–what do the girls think about the move?

    I keep hoping that Gilmore Girls will make its way to Netflix. I feel it’s a show I NEED to watch.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      For the moment I’m managing, but I know things are going to pick up speed in the weeks to come. The girls are excited but a bit anxious, I think, which seems pretty normal. I’m hoping it will be an easy transition for them.

      And yes, you definitely need to watch GG! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Ti

    A big move can be very stressful but also very exciting. I hope it all goes smoothly for you. Currently, I am at work battling an asthma attack. I only get them with certain foods but I did not eat any of the normal trigger foods this time. Ugh.

    Reply
  5. Bree @The Things We Read

    Good luck with the move. I can’t imagine the lists I would be making if I was planning a transatlantic move such as yours. I like your idea of being as zen as possible about the move. Life does go by so fast and its hard to remember to slow down and enjoy the moments we are currently experiencing. I hope you are able to accomplish that zen-ness.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks, Bree. We are definitely in list-making mode! Having said that, though, there will no doubt be some things we forget and panic about at the last minute. Such is life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

