May Wrap-Up and June Reads

May 2014 004Though things have been quiet on the blogging front, I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading, mainly thanks to those lovely, long May weekends. We attended two different weddings this month, one in London and one in the mountains a couple of hours from here, and on both occasions we took the chance to have a mini-vacation which meant some extra reading time for me.

During the month of May I finished six books:

  • The Quick by Lauren Owen
  • The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas
  • And the Dark Sacred Night by Julia Glass (review coming soon!)
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick

Although I haven’t had a chance to review most of these, my favorite of the month was definitely The Thing Around Your Neck. This collection of short stories explores some of the same themes that Adichie touches on in Half of a Yellow Sun but also gives many different views of what it means to be Nigerian today, and I found it to be a riveting read. Highly recommended.

Here’s what I’ve got lined up for June:

  1. Battle Hymns by Cara Langston – I’ll be reading and reviewing this historical novel set during WWII for a book tour.
  2. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare – Carl is hosting a readalong of the famous play as part of Once Upon a Time VIII, and I plan to take part.
  3. All the Birds Singing by Evie Wyld  – I requested this novel for review a while back and have been really looking forward to it. It tells the story of a woman living alone and isolated on an island and sounds spooky-beautiful.
  4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë – Yes, well. I got this one as my Classics Club spin pick and thus have to read it before July. My feelings are VERY mixed about this one, but I am determined to give it a shot.

What are you reading this month? Do you have any other exciting plans for June?

7 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up and June Reads

  1. A.M.B.

    I read Wuthering Heights as part of Maggie’s (from An American in France) read-along. I wasn’t very optimistic about re-reading it. I hadn’t liked it the first time, but I couldn’t really remember why. I ended up writing three posts on it last January, and by the end, I had a new appreciation for the novel. I don’t love it, but I can understand why it has endured.

    Reply
  2. Laurie C

    I have a backlog of books read that have so far gone unreviewed, but now it’s June and that means Audiobook Month, so I have to focus on all my unreviewed audiobooks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

