Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Summer TBR

toptentuesday2Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s top ten list is of ‘Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR’. I’m hoping to fit some good books in this summer despite the fact that we’ll be in the midst of an international move. For that reason, I’ll most likely pick some lighter fare and more ‘comfort’ reads, as I tend to use my reading as an escape when I’m stressed out.

1. Shine, Shine, Shine by Lydia Netzer

I’ve had my eye on this debut novel for a while, so long in fact that Netzer is about to release her second novel (oops). When I saw that Shine, Shine, Shine was on sale recently, I scooped it up.

2. An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon

Anybody who is a fan of this series knows that the long-awaited 8th book has just been published. Unfortunately, I got bogged down in the length of the last few books and I actually haven’t managed to read this (the 7th) one yet.

3. Cop Town by Karin Slaughter

Slaughter’s books are perfect reading for when I’m in need of a little escape, as I get caught up in her compelling writing and tend to forget everything else. This upcoming release is about a female police officer in 1970’s Atlanta, and I cannot wait to read it.

4. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I’ve been working my way through Adichie’s backlist and I’m planning to read this one (her latest) this summer.

5. Deep Summer by Gwen Bristow

I was given this recently for a potential review, and although I had never heard of Bristow before it looks like something I might enjoy. A historical romance set in the deep South, Deep Summer is the first in a trilogy.

6. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I bought this one a while back and I’m looking forward to seeing what all the hype is about.

7. Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

Andrews writes contemporary novels set in the South, and they usually have some kind of romantic subplot. This should be a perfect mental beach book, even if I’m not planning to go to the actual beach.

8. The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

Summertime means baseball, and I’ve had this one on my shelf for far too long. Plus I need to read it so that I can return it to the person who lent it to me in the U.S.

9. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Several people have recommended this book to me, so I’m going to try and get my hands on it after we move. It sounds like a perfect, feel-good summer read.

10. A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

One of my favorite summer reading events is Paris in July, and I’m planning on reading this one that has been on my TBR for ages.

Which books are on your summer TBR list?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Summer TBR

  1. My Book Strings

    I have The Art of Fielding waiting for me as well. It might have to wait until the fall. Americanah is a good book, and The Rosie Project is a nice little diversion. Enjoy your summer reading!

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    Good luck with the international move! I hope you’ll be able to fit lots of reading in. I haven’t read any of the books on your TBR list, but it looks like an interesting and diverse selection.

    Reply
  3. Care

    Yes to #4 and yes to #8 and OH! Have fun with #9! I have too many books up for the next 10 weeks; I don’t think I will make it but I am going to try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

