A Few of My Favorite Books

I saw this meme over at Love, Laughter, Insanity (Trish’s blog) and thought it would be a fun way to start out the week. If you want to play along, just be sure to link back so everyone can see your responses.

A book you’ve read more than once:
Rich in Love by Josephine Humphries. This was my favorite book as a teenager and I really need to do another re-read as an adult.

A book you would take on a desert island:
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen–because I can read it over and over again without ever getting tired of it.

A book that made you cry:
Books make me cry all the time, so this is not much of a distinction. The most recent one that I can remember was Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein.

A book that scared you:
I don’t really read scary books, but Amity and Sorrow by Peggy Riley freaked me out.

A book that made you laugh out loud:
I laughed a lot reading The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick–it’s a good movie but an ever better (and funnier) book.

A book that disgusted you:
Disgusted is a strong word. I “profoundly disapproved” of the way The Quick by Lauren Owen ended up being about something other than what I thought it was about.

A book you loved in preschool:
A Pocket for Corduroy by Don Freeman or The Giant Jam Sandwich by John Vernon Lord (I have strong memories of both of these.)

A book you loved in elementary school:
All of the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary. The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

A book you loved in middle school:
The Babysitters Club series by Ann M. Martin.

A book you loved in high school:
The Secret HIstory by Donna Tartt and The Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan.

A book you hated in high school:
Probably something that I had to read for class, although we read some pretty good books, too. Maybe Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry? I just didn’t get it.

A book you loved in college:
The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton, A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf, The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo… Do I really have to pick only one?

A book that challenged your identity:
Most recently, Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I’m still struggling with that one.

A series that you love:
Julia Spencer-Fleming’s Clare/Russ mystery series.

Your favorite horror book:
I don’t read horror.

Your favorite science fiction book:
See above? Actually, I’m more likely to read science-fiction than horror. I’m in the middle of reading The Martian by Andy Weir. I tend to prefer science-fiction that crosses genre boundaries.

Your favorite fantasy book:
I loved The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Your favorite mystery:
Case Histories by Kate Atkinson.

Your favorite biography:
Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand. Yes, it’s a biography of a horse, and it’s awesome.

Your favorite classic:
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I would have probably said Pride and Prejudice once upon a time, by Brontë has gotten under my skin.

Your favorite romance book:
I loved Something Blue by Emily Giffin, although I’m not a big fan of hers in general.

Your favorite book not on this list:
A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel. This book is just wonderful and hilarious.

What book are you currently reading:
The Martian by Andy Weir
.

What book have you been meaning to read:
I really want to get to The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt soon.

Are any of your favorites on this list? What would you add?

2 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Books

  1. lindylit

    Oh I loved The Babysitters Club when I was younger; I started looking for them again on Amazon recently. I have yet to read Rose Under Fire but I really enjoyed Code Name Verity, so hopefully I’ll get round to it soon.

    Reply
  2. Trish

    I SO wanted my friends and I to start a babysitters club, but by the time we were old enough none of my other friends were interested.

    Goldfinch is one I’ve been meaning to read for WAY too long, too. I’ll be curious what you think of The Martian. We listened to it on our roadtrip last week.

    Thanks for playing along! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

