The June Wrap-Up and July Reads

apt-w-a-viewI will miss seeing this mountain view from my window every day. It’s slowly starting to feel real that in less than two months we will be in the U.S. to stay (for a while, at least). So soon, yet still so far away.

I can tell that it’s beginning to sink in because I’m starting to worry about things like school for girls (will they be able to adjust easily? Should I hold them back a year or keep them in their current grade?) It’s starting to get real for the rest of the family, too, as we say goodbye to friends leaving for summer vacations and have “last” experiences–the last time we’ll do certain things. Sad.

At the same time, I’m hopeful and expectant and I think the excitement will kick in as it gets closer. It’s hard to focus on anything else, particularly my job that is winding down. I’ve been reading quite a bit in a concentrated way, probably as a way to turn off the mental hamster wheel for a while and just escape into a good book.

I finished five books this month:

Labor Day by Joyce Mayard

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson

A Faint Cold Fear by Karin Slaughter

The Martian by Andy Weir

This One is Mine by Maria Semple

They were all good books. I really enjoyed the audio of Labor Day as it was read by the author’s son, actor Wilson Bethel, who did a great job. The Martian was total escapism but lots of fun, and This One is Mine was classic Semple and a worthy predecessor to Bernadette.

I’m planning to join in Paris in July in the month to come. I’m not sure exactly what I’ll be reading, but this event is always a fun time and has special significance for me this year as it will mark the end of my time as an expat in France.

I’ve been making a conscious effort to accept fewer books for review, mainly because life is overwhelming enough at the moment and I need to keep my commitments to a minimum. With that in mind, I don’t actually have any reading that I absolutely have to get done this month. Here’s what I’d like to read in July:

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor – I’m about halfway through this one and really enjoying it. I’ll probably read the second one, Days of Blood & Starlight, immediately after.

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I’m about halfway through this one, too, but I need to re-check it out from the library to be able to finish.

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami – I’m about a third of the way through this one, but to be honest it is boring me to tears. Does it get better? Anyway, I feel like I need to finish it as it was a loaner from my boss.

A Movable Feast by Ernest Hemingway (for Paris in July)

What are you planning to read in July?

10 thoughts on “The June Wrap-Up and July Reads

  1. Geoff W

    I’ve heard that about Norwegian Wood. A friend gave me her copy a few weekends ago and I’ll read it sooner rather than later as I love Murakami and that’s the only one I’ve heard people really not enjoy, so I want to know why!

    Reply
  2. A.M.B.

    That’s a beautiful view. It sounds like you’ve made wonderful memories in France that you’ll carry with you to the US (and wherever you go from there!). Good luck sorting out the logistics of the move. I’m impressed that you’ve been able to read so many books while all of this is going on!

    Reply
      1. Claire 'Word by Word'

        Well actually, when I think Purple Hyacinth I can see the flower, but Purple Hibiscus I can’t, so I actually kind of get your logic, and I also recognise the signs of needing a holiday, I am sure the calm is on the horizon 🙂

  3. Care

    We have read quite a few of the same books! and the others you list are on my tbr.
    But wait! where are you moving? I missed that post somewhere. Best to you on that. I know it gets stressful…

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Care, we’re getting ready to move to Atlanta for a few years (at least). It’s where I’m from, so it will be nice to be near my family for a change. Thanks for the well wishes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

