July Wrap-Up

Hello *waves wildly*! I promise I’m still here, in body if not in spirit. We just got back from a whirlwind trip to Atlanta to try to find a house to rent and get some preliminary business done. It’s a frustrating and stressful time, but I know we will get through this and It Will All Work Out. That’s my mantra these days.

Despite all that other stuff, I’m reading. I finished six books during the month of July:

  1. Three books from the Spymaster series by Joanna Bourne. Schmaltzy schmaltz, but well-written. I loved the first half of My Lord and Spymaster, in particular.
  2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I’m still not sure what I think about this book. I liked the idea behind it, then it went a bit Twilight-y, then it got really far out by the end. I liked it enough to have the second cued up on my kindle, so I guess that says something.
  3. All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld. I think I wanted to like this book more than I actually did, and my anticipation of it was probably a bad thing because I ended up feeling disappointed. Very atmospheric but ultimately anti-climactic.
  4. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. Just as much fun as everyone says. Not a perfect book, but it was the perfect choice to read on my stressful non-vacation to the U.S.

I’m in the middle of lots of different stuff. I read up to chapter 13 for the first week of the East of Eden read along but I haven’t picked it back up since. I found it highly readable but depressing as heck, so I’m not sure I will continue. I need to finish up three other books that I’ve started, including The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, which I’m finding quirky but good.

I hope your July was a good one, and hopefully by the time I do another one of these updates, we will be settling into our new home in Atlanta. Fingers crossed!

 

3 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      It’s a crazy process, and I’m starting to think you have to be at least slightly crazy to attempt it! 🙂 How’s Norwegian Wood going?

      Reply
      1. Geoff W

        I haven’t even gotten close to it! It’s sitting on my bookshelf taunting me. I’ve so many ARCs I want to get through, but I’ll get to it eventually. Maybe I’ll do it and Wind-up next month.

Leave a Reply

