Booking Through Thursday: Bookcases

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

When you visit a friend’s house, do you find time to browse their bookcases? Does it shock you if they don’t have one?

I love this question because I always wonder what people think when they come to my house. We have lots of prominent bookshelves and just about every kind of book under the sun. Between my love for both genre and literary fiction to my husband’s fantasy series and Dragonball Z collection, we must look very schizophrenic! We just love books, period, as a family.

When I’m at someone’s house I definitely check out the bookshelves, but not in a judgemental way. Mostly I’m looking to see if there’s something I want to borrow! 🙂

What about you–are you a bookcase browser?

9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Bookcases

  1. Geoff W

    I always look – I don’t judge unless there’s not one, but I know if you came to our place there’s only one shelf downstairs with maybe 10 books on it, but if you open my room it’s like an explosion of literature and book based things!

    Reply
  2. Heather

    I always look. In fact, a friend sent me a photo of her 1yo son looking at her mother’s bookcases…and before I even looked at the whole photo, I was zooming in to see if I could read the titles of the books on the shelves. Hahaha!

    I don’t judge, not even if there aren’t bookshelves in someone’s house, but it does make me sad if there aren’t any.

    Reply
  3. A.M.B.

    It’s an interesting question. Visitors to my home won’t find any bookshelves, except for a very large one in my twins’ room. There are several bookshelves in our basement, but our visitors rarely go down there. I’m primarily an e-book reader. I carry around my library with me, but no one can browse it.

    Reply
  4. JaneGS

    Guilty as charged, and I assume people check out my shelves, so I (blush) think about what I shelve in my living room versus elsewhere.

    Sadly, I see many homes w/o any visible bookshelves.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday: Bookcases 2 | Too Fond

  6. Kathy

    Books for me are treated just like everything else I own- I only hold on to things that matter to me. I still think that my bookcase is a pretty good reflection of who I am and what I like. I honestly can’t say I pay much attention to what’s on other people’s bookshelves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

