Booking Through Thursday: Bookcases 2

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

I’ve always considered that my bookcases give a pretty fair representation of me as a person—they show my interests, what kind of things I like, that I have a curious mind, the kinds of things I study … all that. But with the increase of e-books, that litmus test of personality is going by the wayside. Unless someone takes my Kindle and browses through it, there isn’t an immediate, visible display of my interests … am I the only one who finds that kind of sad? Going forward, about the most we’ll be able to tell about someone is that they OWN an e-book reader … but no real idea of what they actually read. I’m going to miss that.

This is a follow-up to last week’s question, and it’s definitely something that I’ve thought about, particularly at the moment as I’m going through the process of packing up my library of books. I’ve realized that I only want to hang on to physical books that I either have a sentimental connection to or which I know I’ll read again–for one time books, it just doesn’t make sense to me to keep them.  For that reason, in many ways I think my bookcases are less of an “immediate, visible display of my interests” than a real glimpse into what’s important to me. The fact is that I’ll read almost anything once, but to keep a physical book it has to matter to me.

What about you?

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Bookcases 2

  1. Shannon

    I have a hard time parting with my books and can’t see myself weeding my collection but I love the idea that people will get a more intimate glimpse of your interests because you only keep the books that mean something to you!

    Here is my BTT

    Reply
  2. Brona

    I know what you mean. 7 yrs ago I did a major move which required me to really assess what and how many of my books I could take forward with me.

    It was hard and it was also very easy.

    There were so many books that I read in my 20’s in particular that were so important then, but they had nothing else to say to an older, more mature me.

    But there were so many that I knew I had to keep. They were friends, kindred spirits.

    Good luck with your de-clutter 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

