The August Wrap-Up

Well, hmm. Here it is September 10th and I am only now getting around to writing my August wrap-up. I could blame our recent move, but the fact is that I’m just much more interested in reading than I am in blogging these days. I’m reveling in the fact that I have my very own library. Technically it belongs to everyone in our county, but it feels deliciously ALL MINE.

In August, I read five books:

  1. Room by Emma Donoghue
  2. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
  3. Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  4. In the Woods by Tana French
  5. The Likeness by Tana French

My favorite of the bunch was probably The Sky is Everywhere, which features some very unique characters and a fresh voice that was unlike anything else I’ve read in YA (well, except for the ending, which got way too lovey-dovey for my tastes). I liked the two Tana French mysteries as well, although there is a frustrating lack of resolution for any of her characters.

I had some book-related fun at the end of August as I attended the Decatur Book Festival, a three-day independent book festival held every year in a local town. I was lucky enough to get to meet Pat Conroy, and I also went to several panel discussions featuring some of my favorite local writers, including Joshilyn Jackson and Karin Slaughter. I came away with even more books to add to my to-read list.

As for the non-reading portion of my life, August was crazy but things are starting to settle down now. We still have some (big) things to take care of but we are getting there. Fingers crossed that by the time I post my September update (which at this rate may be by Halloween), that we’ll at least have cars to drive and (please, please) have sold our apartment in France.

Hope you all had a great August and that September is already shaping up to be a good one for you–happy reading!

8 thoughts on “The August Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      Julie, he was really nice and funny. My mom had met him at the festival the year before and he still remembered her and asked her about her life (with specific detail–he really remembered!).

      Reply
  1. BookerTalk

    Love the idea that you own the entire county library. Sounds like bliss though I just know I would get frustrated by all these wonderful books to read that you haven’t got time for…

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I don’t feel as much pressure to read them all when they’re on the library’s shelves instead of my own–they’re not staring me in the face all the time, anyway. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

