The September Wrap-Up

Tap, tap, tap. Is this thing on?

September passed in a whirlwind of driving and shopping and packing and unpacking and more driving. We finally received all of our belongings about five days ago and I’ve been trying to get it closer to feeling like home ever since. We’re getting there. The kitchen is done (woo-hoo!) and hopefully the rest of the house will follow suit in the next month. My goal is to be officially settled by Halloween. Doable, right?

Other progress this month: we both have cars, so no more ferrying the husband to work and back or being stuck at home. The girls are getting used to school in the U.S. and making friends. The husband is enjoying his new job so far. We are all enjoying Netflix and Pandora (Orange is the New Black is our current favorite show). Of course, Netflix finally made it to France this past month as well. They were obviously just waiting for me to leave!

So life is zipping along, and while I’ve been too busy to think about working so far, I’m starting to now. Hopefully a good opportunity will present itself soon.

Despite the wealth of reading material here in the U.S., I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had time to indulge myself much this past month. I’m behind on my yearly reading challenge, and I only finished two books this month! Sad, I know. In September, I read:

  1. Indelible by Karin Slaughter
  2. Through the Evil Days by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Both are books in a mystery series, and while I liked them both they were nothing to wow about. I was a bit disappointed by the Spencer-Fleming, as I’d been looking forward to reading this latest one for a while now. It was just okay.

I’m trying to slow down on checking out books from the library because I’m not able to keep up the pace at the moment. I also decided to participate in Trish’s readalong of Drood in October, and I seriously doubt I will have time for anything else this month. That is one BIG book.

 I hope your October is a delightful one full of fall fun and Halloween spookiness (if you’re into that kind of thing). Have a great month–

8 thoughts on “The September Wrap-Up

  1. Bree @The Things We Read

    I didn’t finish any books in September. September was a bad reading month for many people. Good luck with your unpacking and job hunting. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Library Loot: October 1st – 8th | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

